莎賓娜・歌婷不丹傳統文化指南

發布日期: 1996年clock閱讀需時: 35s
scroll-down

於1992年的不丹旅程中,藝術品復修家莎賓娜・歌婷(Sabine Cotte)為這個細小王國的古老要塞及廟宇之美震懾心神,但卻同時因看到這些建築的頹垣敗瓦而感到震驚。

地點不丹

於1996年獲頒授勞力士雄才偉略大獎後,歌婷與建築師大衛・諾克(David Nock)進行了一趟為期八星期、行程緊密的不丹研究之旅,探索了17個文化遺跡,包括細小的村落廟宇以至宏偉的寺院。參與這項旅程的成員將所見所聞整理成報告並向不丹政府提出建議,以確保這些廟宇及當中的珍貴藝術元素如壁畫、手繪幡及雕塑得到妥善保存。

我一直避免讓僧侶覺得我是向他們下達指示的外國專家。他們對其國土非凡的文化遺產引以為傲,而我們現在便協助他們進行保育工作。

2000年,她以英語及不丹語言出版了Handbook of Preventive Conservation for Dzongs and Lhankangs。現時,這本指南在不丹仍被用作保育的參考指引,文化產業保育與復修研究國際中心(International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property)更將內容上載於網絡上。不丹國立紡織博物館亦以此書為藍本作為復修紡織品的指引。2008年,歌婷教授尼泊爾巴克塔普爾大學(Khwopa College)文化建築學的學生如何為壁畫留存記錄。及後,她曾於喜馬拉雅山主持數個工作坊、參與可持續保育計劃、於台灣教授文化保育及於不同的保育研究期刊發表論文。

歌婷目前在澳洲從事藝術品復修工作。

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Sabine CotteA user’s guide to Bhutan’s heritage

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 35s
scroll-down

On a trek through Bhutan in 1992, art restorer Sabine Cotte was struck by the beauty of the tiny kingdom’s ancient fortresses and temples – but also by the buildings’ cracked walls and crumbling foundations.

locationBhutan

After winning her Rolex Award in 1996, Cotte and architect David Nock undertook an intensive, eight-week research trip to Bhutan to visit 17 sites ranging from small village temples to elaborate monasteries. The trip resulted in an extensive report and recommendations that were presented to Bhutan’s government to ensure the future preservation of the temples and of their artworks, including mural paintings, painted banners and statues.

I was careful not to come in as the expert foreigner who gave instructions on what they had to do. Monks are naturally proud of their beautiful cultural heritage, and now we have been able to help them to preserve it.

In 2000, she published the Handbook of Preventive Conservation for Dzongs and Lhankangs in English and Dzongkha. The handbook is still used in Bhutan, and the International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property made it available online. It also inspired the National Textile Museum of Bhutan to adapt it for use in textile restoration. In 2008, Cotte trained heritage architecture students from Khwopa College in Nepal to document mural paintings. Their final examination work included the creation of a similar handbook. Since then she has led workshops in the Himalayas, participated in sustainable conservation projects, trained conservation students in Taiwan and published several papers in conservation journals.

Cotte now works in Australia as an art restorer.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page