爱玛・甘普以最顽强的珊瑚拯救珊瑚礁

发布日期: 2019年clock阅读需时: 2min 4s
scroll-down

领导科学家曾警告,世上绝大部分的珊瑚礁或于2030年代消失,这正是人类活动和气候变化的恶果,然而,海洋生物学家和探险家爱玛・甘普(Emma Camp)决心证明事实并非如此。

地点澳大利亚

这位英国出生的研究人员探索并细看全球多个珊瑚栖息地,发现部分地方的一些珊瑚能够在不利条件下安然生长。她展示这些“珊瑚适应热点”有助修复受气候暖化、海洋酸化及其他人类破坏所蹂躏的珊瑚礁。

甘普指出:“全球珊瑚因气候变化、海洋酸化及低氧水域而濒临灭亡。除了着力试图降低人类的碳排放量外,我们似乎没有太多方式,协助珊瑚礁持续生长。”

甘普观察到部分珊瑚能在极端环境下自然生长,这些水域较未来200年的预计环境更为严峻。“我们目前只发现它们栖生地。我们需要了解其存活方式和原因,以及我们如何利用相关特性来拯救世界各地的珊瑚礁。”

我们目前只发现它们的栖息地。我们需要了解其存活方式和原因,以及我们如何利用相关特性来拯救世界各地的珊瑚礁。

爱玛・甘普

2016年,甘普带领一支潜水队伍前往新喀里多尼亚(New Caledonia),首度记录20种珊瑚如何在科学家一直认为是过热和有毒的环境下茁壮成长。2019年,甘普出版首份科研报告,列出澳大利亚大堡礁(Great Barrier Reef)两种极端的珊瑚栖息环境。

大多数珊瑚喜欢干净、清澈、少营养物和沉积物、温度稳定及富含氧气的海水。她则在恶劣条件和红树林周围的浑浊海水中,找到茂密生长的珊瑚。从各方面来看,这些珊瑚亦能适应人类对全球珊瑚礁造成的不良影响。

澳大利亚大堡礁是世上最大的珊瑚群,甘普在2,000公里的范围内寻找相似的“珊瑚适应热点”,并且研究这些“超级生还者”的行为和遗传因素,藉以解开如何重建珊瑚礁的难题,减少人类活动引起的白化和其他形式的珊瑚死亡情况。现在,她正运用此知识,尝试恢复受白化和其他因素死亡的珊瑚礁族群。

她解释:“我们需要打破常规。我们需要回归大自然,看看珊瑚如何长久生存下来,并利用相关知识,结合创新概念与技术,竭力保护我们所拥有的资源。”

甘普在英国城市长大,其父亲在她六岁时带她到热带地区浮潜,这是她人生首次看到珊瑚礁。“水底是个全新的世界,令我赞叹不已。我从那时起爱上珊瑚礁,深深着迷。”

近三十年后,这份敬畏之情和热忱始终不减:“我不希望从这一代的口中听见:‘我们失去了珊瑚礁。’” 她补充,珊瑚不仅独特美丽,还支持着数亿人的生命。

甘普正在大堡礁北部的低岛(Low Isles)和霍威克岛(Howick Island)探索全新的适应热点,研究当地的珊瑚,辨别关键的适应特征,并首度尝试将之移植至大规模珊瑚死亡的区域。她联同在当地任职生态旅游从业员的公民科学家,监测珊瑚的生存情况,了解这些珊瑚能否重建受损地区,且如常适应新环境。

一旦引证成功,她计划培训多名当地持份者和生态旅游人士,一同重建珊瑚区域,以弥补人类行为造成的损害。

  • 2,000公里

    澳大利亚大堡礁的长度

  • 20种

    甘普发现在极端环境下生活的珊瑚品种

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

Emma CampReef rescue with the toughest corals

Published in 2019clockTime to read: 2min 4s
scroll-down

The world’s coral reefs may be largely gone by the 2030s, victims of human activity and climate change, leading scientists have warned – but marine biologist and explorer Emma Camp is determined to prove them wrong.

locationAustralia

Exploring and studying a range of coral habitats globally, the British-born researcher has discovered several places where certain corals are managing to prosper, despite the most unfavourable conditions. She is demonstrating how these “hotspots of coral resilience” may hold the key to repopulating reefs ravaged by a warming climate, acidifying water and other human-inflicted damage.

“Corals globally are dying from climate change, from more acidic oceans and waters low in oxygen. But, while we’re desperately trying to lower humanity’s carbon emissions there are very few options beyond that to try to help reefs persist,” Camp says.

Camp observed that some corals naturally live under extreme conditions – more extreme than those being predicted over the next 200 years. “We are now only just discovering where they are surviving. We need to understand how they’re there and why they’re there – and how we can utilize their abilities to help save coral reefs globally.”

We are now only just discovering where they are surviving. We need to understand how they’re there and why they’re there – and how we can utilize their abilities to help save coral reefs globally.

Emma Camp

In 2016, Camp led a dive team to New Caledonia that documented, for the first time, 20 species of coral thriving under conditions previously considered by science to be too hot and too toxic for them to survive. In 2019, Camp published the first scientific study identifying two similar extreme coral habitats on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef.

Most corals prefer clean, crystal-clear waters low in nutrients and sediment, stable in temperature and rich in oxygen. The corals she found live and thrive amid hostile conditions, in the murky waters around mangroves. To all appearances, they are resilient to the very conditions that humans are inflicting on the world’s reefs.

By identifying similar hotspots of resilience along the 2,000 km of Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, the world’s largest coral assemblage, and studying the behaviour and genetics of these ultra-tough coral survivors, Camp is unlocking new understanding on the mechanisms that support coral resilience. She is now using this knowledge to see how it can be applied to repopulate coral reefs that have been impacted by bleaching and other forms of coral death.

“I believe we need to think outside the box. We need to go back to nature and see how it has survived for so long, and use that knowledge, combined with innovation and technology, to try to conserve what we’ve got,” she explains.

Growing up in urban Britain, Camp first saw a coral reef when her father took her on a snorkelling holiday to the tropics at the age of six. “It was a whole new world under there. I was just blown away. That was when my love for reefs really began. I was just fascinated.”

Nearly three decades later, that awe and love drive her still: “I just don’t want to be part of the generation that says, ‘we lost the coral reefs’.” Corals are not just strange and beautiful – they also support hundreds of millions of human lives, she adds.

Camp is currently studying the two new hot-spots of resilience on the northern Great Barrier Reef – the Low Isles and Howick Island – to research the corals there, identify the key traits in their resilience and then, for the first time, try to transplant them to areas devastated by mass coral death. Helped by citizen scientists in the form of local ecotourism operators, she is monitoring how the corals survive and whether they recolonize devastated areas and retain their resilient qualities in their new home.

If her theories prove correct, she envisages training many local stakeholders and ecotourism communities in coral restoration, in a bid to make good the damage wrought by human actions.

  • 2,000 km

    The length of Australia’s Great Barrier Reef

  • 20

    Coral species identified by Camp that naturally live under extreme conditions

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover