福雷斯特・明斯三世公民科學家

發布日期: 1993年icon-clock閱讀需時: 0min 52s
icon-scroll-down

自學成才的科學家福雷斯特・明斯(Forrest Mims)發明了多種器材,讓各地業餘和專業人士皆可量度臭氧層的數據,攜手保護地球生態。

地點美國

研究員約於三十年前發現南極上空平流層的臭氧濃度急劇下降,情況令人擔憂。平流層臭氧可保護地球生物免受紫外線輻射的侵害。業餘科學家福雷斯特・明斯三世目睹問題所在,決定採取行動。

臭氧損耗是非常複雜的問題,但科學界傾向以相對狹隘的方式作出應對。

來自美國德州的明斯身兼工程師、發明家、作家及攝影師,他注意到社會缺乏一套通用的紫外線測量方式,於是便與美國太空總署交流意見,最終設計出便攜式臭氧總量光譜儀(TOPS)。明斯的工作備受當今專業研究人員的關注及尊重。

他於1993年憑國際臭氧監測網絡榮獲勞力士雄才偉略大獎,名聲日增;這個稱為「SPAN」的網絡特別為觀察人員裝配便攜式臭氧總量光譜儀,使他們能夠在全球各地搜集大氣資料。計劃推出後,明斯收到多達34個國家的義工提出申請。1994年,他研發出名為MicroTOPS的微處理器控制臭氧計,日後更進一步推出先進的太陽光度計和MicroTOPS II臭氧顯示器。

雖然這個網絡現已結束,但數以百計的MicroTOPS II仍獲各地科學家所採用,特別是在偏遠地區,用以測量臭氧層、總水汽量及污染造成的霧霾程度。明斯隨後參與了多個項目,包括為美國太空總署的蘭利研究中心(Langley Research Center)及MAKE雜誌制定科學計劃。他亦有為Nature and Science等著名科學刊物撰文。

  • 6,000至9,000美元

    MicroTOPS基本版目前價格

  • 逾50冊

    明斯撰寫的DIY自助電子書數量

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索更多

Forrest M. Mims IIICitizen scientist

Published in 1993clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

The inventions of self-taught scientist Forrest Mims have allowed amateurs and specialists across the world to measure the ozone layer that protects life on our planet.

locationUnited States

Almost 30 years ago, researchers made the alarming discovery that ozone concentrations in the stratosphere over Antarctica were declining precipitously. Knowing that stratospheric ozone protects life on Earth from damaging UV radiation, amateur scientist Forrest Mims III decided to act.

The scientific community tends to take a relatively narrow approach to these questions, when ozone loss is a very complex issue.

Motivated by the universal lack of ultraviolet measurements, and later through his interaction with NASA, the Texan engineer, inventor, writer and photographer designed the Total Ozone Portable Spectrometer (TOPS). Mims now had the attention, and respect, of professional researchers.

His reputation grew in 1993 when he won a Rolex Award for his international ozone-monitoring network known as SPAN, which equipped observers with TOPS so they could gather atmospheric data anywhere in the world. He was overwhelmed by requests from volunteers in 34 countries. In 1994, Mims developed a microprocessor-controlled ozonometer, dubbed MicroTOPS, followed by the advanced sun photometer and ozone monitor, MicroTOPS II.

Although the network no longer exists, hundreds of MicroTOPS IIs are used by scientists worldwide to measure the ozone layer, total water vapour and haze caused by pollution, especially in remote locations. The many initiatives Mims has subsequently been involved with include developing science projects for NASA’s Langley Research Center and MAKE magazine. He has written prolifically for prestigious scientific journals, including Nature and Science.

  • 6,000 - 9,000

    Current price range in US dollars for the basic MicroTOPS

  • 50+

    Do-it-yourself electronics books written by Mims

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page