伊尔泽・科勒罗尔夫森骆驼女神

发布日期: 2002年clock阅读需时: 40s
scroll-down

德国兽医伊尔泽・科勒罗尔夫森(Ilse Köhler-Rollefson)在偏远的印度塔尔沙漠(Thar Desert)与骆驼牧民合作,竭力捍卫世界各地的传统游牧社区。

地点印度

数个世纪以来,单峰驼在印度腹地担当驮运角色,为莱卡(Raika)人带来生计和独有身分。然而,驼群因栖息地消失、疾病及贩卖问题而数目锐减。

莱卡人深信没有骆驼便没有莱卡。

为拯救驼群,伊尔泽・科勒罗尔夫森一方面将西方医学与传统疗法和畜牧技术相结合,另一方面协助莱卡人售卖骆驼奶等产品,以拓阔收入来源,《印度斯坦时报》(Hindustan Times)更因此称她为“骆驼女神”。

科勒罗尔夫森以兽医身分与莱卡人共处大半年。期间,她向印度政府作出游说,捍卫当地居民的权利。在她的推动下,非政府组织Lokhit Pashu-Palak Sansthan正式成立,致力在区内协调骆驼的拯救项目。她亦在国际层面积极工作,担任League for Pastoral Peoples的核心人员。科勒罗尔夫森于2014年出版书籍Camel Karma. Twenty Years Among India’s Camel Nomads,分享她的所见所闻。

  • 100,000人

    在印度拉贾斯坦邦(Rajasthan)拥有雄性驼车的估计民众数目

  • 逾100篇

    科勒罗尔夫森就骆驼、莱卡人、畜牧业及相关主题编写和出版的学术文章和著作数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Ilse Köhler-RollefsonOur lady of the camels

Published in 2002clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

German veterinary surgeon Ilse Köhler-Rollefson works with camel herders in India’s remote Thar Desert and champions traditional pastoralist communities worldwide.

locationIndia

The one-humped camel has thrived for centuries as a load carrier in India’s hinterland, giving the Raika people a livelihood and an identity. But habitat loss, disease and sell-offs have decimated herds.

The Raika people believe that without camels, there would be no Raika.

Ilse Köhler-Rollefson has combined western medicine with traditional remedies and pastoral techniques to save the herds and help the Raika diversify into selling camel milk and other products, causing the Hindustan Times newspaper to name her “Our Lady of the Camels”.

Köhler-Rollefson lives with the Raika for much of the year and works as a vet. She also defends their rights by lobbying the Indian government. As part of her advocacy, she helped found the non-governmental organization Lokhit Pashu-Palak Sansthan to coordinate a regional effort to save the camels. She also plays a key role internationally as a core staff member of the League for Pastoral Peoples. In 2014, Köhler-Rollefson published a book about her. In 2014, Köhler-Rollefson published a book about her experiences, Camel Karma. Twenty Years Among India’s Camel Nomads.

  • 100,000

    Estimated people and their families who own a male working camel and cart in the Indian state of Rajasthan

  • 100+

    Scholarly articles and monographs written and published by Köhler-Rollefson on camels, the Raika, pastoralism and related subjects

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page