伊莉娜・舍巴科娃俄国公园游行

发布日期: 1998年clock阅读需时: 45s
scroll-down

群众以游行方式保卫俄罗斯的国家公园,改变自然保育的理念,这一切源于伊莉娜・舍巴科娃(Irina Chebakova)的决心和努力。

地点俄罗斯

俄罗斯的版图从北极岛屿延至中亚沙漠,自然遗产丰富。然而,俄国在20世纪末经历动荡局势,导致保育工作难上加难。

我们可聘请律师为自己辩护,但公园却是‘有冤无路诉’。此话放诸自然生态和所有物种亦然。

为此,自然保育专家伊莉娜・舍巴科娃发起公园游行(March for Parks)运动,尝试克服种种挑战。她深信这项年度活动有助改变俄罗斯人民的态度,尤其是于苏联体制崩溃后的关键时期。从1995年到2000年代,保育工作迈向了新水平,公众的支持度不断提升,政府的资助亦持续增加。

于1990年代中期,舍巴科娃受美国同僚的经历所启发,开始鼓励大众以游行方式支持公园和保护区的发展。1995年,首届运动在俄罗斯和周边国家举行,吸引5,000人参加合共20场游行。她于1998年获颁劳力士雄才伟略大奖,同年,游行人数超过五十万人,至2003年,多达一百万人为保护国家公园、自然保护区或zapovednik,挺身而出。这些地域素来是科学家的专区,但现在舍巴科娃却成功引起公众的注意。

她于2004年离开公园游行,投身非政府组织的青少年工作,此前,她一直是这项重要运动的先驱。历年来,她积极游说不同人士,包括公园管理员和地区官员,令运动取得丰硕成果。最近一次公园游行于2016年5月展开,至今已举办22届。

  • 5,000人

    参与首届公园游行

  • 102个

    俄罗斯严密自然保护区

  • 44个

    俄罗斯国家公园

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Irina Chebakova

Marching for Russia’s parks

Published in 1998clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Mass marches are saving the national parks of Russia, and changing perceptions of nature conservation, thanks to the determined efforts of Irina Chebakova.

locationRussia

From islands in the Arctic to the deserts of Central Asia, Russia has a rich and fabulous natural heritage. The country’s upheavals of the late 20th century, however, have made it increasingly difficult to protect.

People have lawyers to defend them, but parks have no lawyers to plead their cause. And that applies to nature and to all species.

Irina Chebakova sought to overcome these challenges through her March for Parks crusade. The nature reserve specialist believes these annual events have helped change attitudes in Russia during a critical period after the collapse of the Soviet system. From 1995 to the 2000s, they set conservation on a new level, gaining support from the public and increased funding from governments.

In the mid-1990s, Chebakova, inspired by an American colleague’s experiences, began to encourage people to march in support of parks and protected areas. In 1995, in the first event in Russia and surrounding countries, 5,000 people took part in 20 marches. By 1998, the year of her Rolex Award, there were half a million marchers, by 2003 a million people were calling for protection of national parks and nature reserves, or zapovedniks. Traditionally these have been off-limits, reserved for scientists, something that Chebakova has also drawn public attention to.

Until 2004, when she left March for Parks to work for NGOs helping young people, Chebakova headed the movement, a major feat of organization. Much of the success is due to her lobbying efforts, her targets ranging from park wardens to regional governors. March for Parks remains active, its 22nd event held in May 2016.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page