祖・湯遜令人著迷的倭黑猩猩

發布日期: 2004年icon-clock閱讀需時: 0min 58s
icon-scroll-down

來自美國的祖・湯遜(Jo Thompson)自小已被倭黑猩猩(bonobo)所吸引,她花了數十年的時間保育剛果民主共和國那些「令人著迷」的物種,並進行實地研究及以社區為本的保育工作。

地點剛果民主共和國

剛果民主共和國是全球唯一一個有倭黑猩猩於野外生活的國家。倭黑猩猩是人類的近親,牠們能直立走路、擁有跟人類一樣的溝通方式及豐富的臉部表情。倭黑猩猩是巨猿(great ape)類的罕有品種,牠們的生存日漸受到威脅。

倭黑猩猩吸引我到訪剛果民主共和國,但牠們並不是我常到當地的唯一原因。我關注那裏的整個生態環境,包括當地的人及社區,令我希望經常留在當地。

人類學家及靈長類動物學家祖・湯遜畢生致力於幫助倭黑猩猩。為保護牠們免受偷獵者獵殺及保育牠們的棲息地,她培訓當地的黎雅爾利馬(Iyaelima)部族進行保育工作,並連同剛果政府部門設立研究基地,進一步探索人猿的生態。1992年,她開展了盧古路野生動物研究計劃(Lukuru Wildlife Research Project),儘管計劃多年一直面對著當地的武裝動亂威脅,但仍無礙計劃保育倭黑猩猩的目標。截至1998年該計劃成功購入34平方公里的原始地區,並成立保索山達動物保育區(Bososandja Faunal Reserve)。

湯遜致力確保人類及人猿和睦共處的努力,讓她贏得2004年的勞力士大獎。儘管讓人類捕獵者與瀕危物種共處看似不會帶來好結果,但她相信黎雅爾利馬部族是這些動物的唯一希望,而非最大威脅。

現在湯遜仍然擔任盧古路的項目總監,每年會從位於俄亥俄州的家兩度前往剛果民主共和國。她在俄亥俄州從事教育、寫作工作並積極為項目籌款。

  • 30,000隻

    剛果民主共和國倭黑猩猩的估計數目

  • 600隻

    生活在湯遜於1998年設立的保索山達動物保育區的倭黑猩猩數目

  • 7歲

    湯遜發現蘇斯博士(Dr Seuss)的書本中,倭黑猩猩遭錯誤標籤為黑猩猩時的年齡

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索更多

close

Jo ThompsonBewitched by bonobos

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Fascinated by bonobos since her childhood, American Jo Thompson has dedicated decades to conserving these “bewitching” creatures in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) and to conducting field research and community-based conservation.

locationDemocratic Republic of Congo

The DRC is the only country in the world where bonobos live in the wild. One of our closest living relatives, they have a predisposition for walking upright and communication and share many facial expressions with humans. Considered the rarest of the great apes, they face increasing threats to survival.

It’s the bonobos that took me to the Democratic Republic of the Congo but they’re not the only thing that keeps me going back. The people, their communities, now generally exert a far greater pull because I am, in fact, concerned for the whole environment.

Anthropologist and primatologist Jo Thompson has dedicated her life to helping them. To protect against poachers and habitat loss, she trained local Iyaelima people in conservation and worked alongside Congolese authorities setting up research bases to expand understanding of the apes’ ecology. She initiated the Lukuru Wildlife Research Project in 1992, a programme to safeguard bonobos that has endured despite years of often violent unrest, and in 1998 bought 34 square kilometres of virgin terrain and created the Bososandja Faunal Reserve.

Her efforts to ensure people and apes live in harmony led to a Rolex Award in 2004. Co-habitation by human hunters and endangered animals may sound like a recipe for disaster, but she believes that, far from being their greatest threat, the Iyaelima may be their single greatest hope.

Thompson, who remains Lukuru project director, travels to the DRC twice a year from her Ohio home, where she teaches, writes and raises funds for the project.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page