荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯亞馬遜的保育傳承

發布日期: 2002年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

已故的荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯(José Márcio Ayres)畢生致力保護亞馬遜森林,並銳意改善土著生活環境。

地點巴西

儘管位處亞馬遜雨林中央的馬米拉瓦(Mamirauá)生態區受法例保護,但非法伐林和密集捕魚仍持續耗損當地的珍貴資源。1996年,來自巴西的熱帶森林生態學專家荷西・馬斯奧・艾爾斯在南美洲建設首個可持續發展保護區,面積達2,600平方公里。

一個人的夢想通過各種方式成功實踐,迄今令數以千計的居民受益。

艾爾斯於2003年與世長辭。此前,他花費逾15年時間向當地居民宣揚保育訊息,鼓勵他們留在家鄉亞馬遜生活,並說服他們無需投奔巴西各大城市謀生。透過生態旅遊和其他項目,他協助居民管理區內的自然資源,藉此維持生計。這項重要工作亦為艾爾斯帶來勞力士雄才偉略大獎,讓他能夠把馬米拉瓦計劃擴展至相鄰的阿馬納保護區(Amanã Reserve),從而構建全球最大範圍的保育長廊。

他於49歲離世,其堅持的承諾由一支專業團隊傳承延續。各人與保護區的居民一直合作,攜手保育這片珍貴境地。如今,他推動的可持續發展模式已在巴西逐漸普及,先後獲得另外九個保護區採納。其影響力更遍及鄰國阿根廷和圭亞那,以至東非的坦桑尼亞。

  • 57,000平方公里

    由艾爾斯的團隊管理、全球佔地最廣的保育長廊之面積

  • 12,500人

    來自兩個保護區、協助保護非凡雨林棲息地的居民總數

  • 150名

    在馬米拉瓦生活的研究人員數目,他們專注研究並監測保護區的生物多樣性

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

José Márcio AyresAn Amazonian legacy

Published in 2002clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

The late José Márcio Ayres devoted his life to the challenge of combining protection of the Amazon forests with improving the living conditions of its indigenous people.

locationBrazil

Despite the Mamirauá ecological station’s protected status in the heart of the Amazonian rainforest, illegal deforestation and intensive fishing were exhausting its resources. In 1996, Brazilian José Márcio Ayres, a specialist in the ecology of tropical forests, stepped in and established a 2,600 km² sustainable development reserve, the first of its kind in South America.

Thousands of people are benefiting today from the dream of one man who gave himself the means of making it come true.

Before he died in 2003, Ayres had campaigned for more than 15 years for conservation methods that encouraged local people to remain in their Amazon homelands rather than seek work in Brazil’s big cities. He helped them earn a living by managing the natural resources of the region through ecotourism and other programmes. This tour de force earned Ayres a Rolex Award, enabling him to extend the Mamirauá project to the adjacent Amanã Reserve, creating the most extensive protected corridor of tropical rainforest in the world.

Since his death at 49, a dedicated team has kept alive his passionate commitment. They work on a continuing basis with inhabitants of the reserves to preserve this precious environment. Today, his sustainable development model is gaining ground in Brazil, where it has been adopted by nine other reserves. It has also spread into neighbouring Argentina and Guyana, and as far afield as Tanzania in East Africa.

  • 57,000 km²

    Extent of the world’s most extensive tropical rainforest corridor protected by Ayres’s team

  • 12,500

    Inhabitants of the two reserves who are helping preserve the exceptional rainforest habitat

  • 150

    Researchers living at Mamirauá devoted to studying and monitoring the reserve’s biodiversity

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page