奧利維爾・辛基文拿拯救盧旺達的吉祥鳥

發布日期: 2014年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

在政局動盪的盧旺達,野生保育往往並非首要任務。幸而,此情況於近年有所轉變,而奧利維爾・辛基文拿(Olivier Nsengimana)正是其中的領導者,他將焦點放於當地一種獨特的鳥類之上。

地點盧旺達

盧旺達人視灰冠鶴為財富和長壽的象徵。然而,這種優雅雀鳥正受威脅。灰冠鶴長有金羽毛冠,脖子帶火紅斑點,由於棲息地漸失,加上成為上流社會的熱門寵物,令美麗的灰冠鶴步向滅絕之路。不少灰冠鶴最終淪為酒店和高尚住宅的裝飾品。

我們是時候採取行動,解決祖國的問題。如其他人也能做到,我何妨一試?

拯救灰冠鶴是獸醫奧利維爾・辛基文拿的核心任務,他希望鼓勵下一代盧旺達民眾好好保護國家的自然遺產。為提升大眾對保育灰冠鶴的意識,他建立了盧旺達非法飼養灰冠鶴的數據庫,迄今已有216隻成功登記,其中98隻現遷往復康設施,為放歸野外作準備。

其他活動包括在學校舉辦教育項目,並向本土社區提供無損物種的謀生機會。與此同時,他與政府密切合作,就灰冠鶴和其他物種的保育工作加強勸說。

近日,辛基文拿獲選為2016年圖斯克保育動物獎(Tusk Conservation Awards)的最後三強,並獲活動贊助人英國威廉王子(Prince William)親自祝賀。

  • 50%–80%

    在過去45年全球灰冠鶴數量的跌幅

  • 300至500隻

    盧旺達野生灰冠鶴的估計數量

  • 216隻

    迄今辛基文拿已登記的非法飼養灰冠鶴數目

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Olivier Nsengimana

Saving Rwanda’s bird of fortune

Published in 2014clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Rwanda’s turbulent history has meant wildlife conservation has not always been able to be a priority, but the situation has improved over recent years. Olivier Nsengimana has been part of this change with an emblematic bird as his flagship species.

locationRwanda

In Rwanda, the grey crowned crane is a symbol of wealth and longevity. But this elegant bird is endangered. With a golden tufted crown and a flame-red spot on its neck, the graceful creature is dying out due to loss of habitat and because it has become a desirable pet for the nation’s elite. It is often found adorning the gardens of hotels and fashionable homes.

It’s time we take initiatives to solve our country’s problems. If other people can do it, why not me?

Veterinarian Olivier Nsengimana has put the grey crowned crane at the heart of his mission to inspire the next generation of Rwandans to protect their country’s natural heritage. As part of his campaign to raise awareness of the importance of crane conservation, he has established a database of illegally kept cranes in Rwanda, with 216 registered so far, 98 of which have now spent time in a rehabilitation facility as part of the process of reintroduction to the wild.

Other activities include education programmes in schools and engaging local communities by providing opportunities for livelihoods that do not threaten species. At the same time, he is working closely with the government and scaling up pressure to have cranes and other species protected.

Britain’s Prince William recently congratulated Nsengimana for being selected as one of the three finalists of the 2016 Tusk Conservation Awards, of which the prince is patron.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page