彼德・黎特斯停止買賣

發布日期: 1998年clock閱讀需時: 0min 57s
scroll-down

許多動物保育項目側重於制止偷獵者和保護棲息地,但英國生態學家彼德・黎特斯(Peter Knights)則集中游說大眾停止購買由瀕危動物製成的產品。

地點中國

野生救援(WildAid)向數以百萬計的民眾宣揚「結束非法野生動物貿易」的訊息。自稱非傳統環保主義者的彼德・黎特斯是這個組織的聯合創始人和執行總裁。他發起全球首個國際計劃,致力降低大眾對瀕危野生動物副產品的需求,他亦憑此工作成為1998年勞力士雄才偉略大獎的聯合得主。由此計劃發展而成的野生救援以「沒有買賣,就沒有殺害」為口號,並積極推動相關工作。

減低對野生動物產品的需求,有助減少偷獵行為。我們的組織廣告邀得成龍和姚明等名人大使參與,而媒體宣傳金額亦相當於10億美元。此推廣活動有助令魚翅食用量下降50-70%,象牙價格亦削減一半。

野生救援相信遏止偷獵行為應由消費者的需求入手,組織備受保育家以至各界名人支持,當中包括成龍、威廉王子、珍・古德(Jane Goodall)、理查德・布蘭森爵士(Sir Richard Branson)、雷碧達・尼安高(Lupita Nyong’o)及姚明。黎特斯亦積極游說主流媒體向野生救援提供免費時段,他解釋:「我們在中國和印度的國家電視台出現,便可接觸到龐大的觀眾群。」

野生救援將焦點放於備受關注的物種上,而黎特斯便引證了這個策略成功改變大眾的態度,而且規模日漸擴大:「過去兩年,中國的魚翅食用量估計下降達50-70%,亞洲其他地區則超過30%。而中國市民對大象和犀牛偷獵問題的意識亦增加達50%。」

  • 2億美元

    野生救援每年獲取免費公益媒體時段的平均金額

  • 33,000隻

    非洲大象每年因象牙被殺的估計數量。野生救援正發起反象牙貿易行動

  • 100名

    著名演員、運動員及音樂家擔任野生救援大使

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

close

Peter KnightsWhen the buying stops

Published in 1998clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Many animal conservation initiatives focus on stopping poachers and preserving habitats but British ecologist Peter Knights concentrates on persuading people not to buy products produced from endangered animals.

locationChina

The messages of WildAid, whose mission is to “end the illegal wildlife trade in our lifetimes”, reach millions. Peter Knights, who describes himself as an unconventional environmentalist, is the organization’s co-founder and chief executive. He became an Associate Laureate in 1998 for running the world’s first international programme to eliminate demand for endangered wild animal by-products. This developed into WildAid, which adopted the memorable slogan, “When the buying stops, the killing can too”.

To reduce poaching we need to reduce the demand for wildlife products. Led by local icons like Jackie Chan and Yao Ming, our entrepreneurial advertising approach leveraged more than US$1 billion of media space, while helping to reduce shark fin consumption by 50—70% and cut ivory prices in half.

WildAid’s inventive campaigning against the consumer demand that drives poaching has attracted support from conservationists and global icons including Jackie Chan, Prince William, Jane Goodall, Sir Richard Branson, Lupita Nyong’o and Yao Ming. “When we are on state TV in China, or national TV in India, we reach huge audiences,” explains Knights, who persuades major media outlets to give free time and space to WildAid.

Knights has evidence that WildAid, with its strategy of focusing on charismatic species, is making a difference, changing people’s attitudes and doing so on a grand scale: “Shark fin consumption is estimated down 50–70 per cent in China in the last two years and down 30 per cent-plus in other parts of Asia. Awareness is up 50 per cent in China on elephant and rhino poaching.”

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page