莎拉・杜米歇止撒哈拉沙漠的扩张

发布日期: 2016年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

莎拉・杜米(Sarah Toumi)重返其父亲的故乡突尼斯,决志修复受沙漠化威胁的耕地,并引入可持续发展的农业方式,舒缓当地贫穷的境况。

地点突尼斯

因雨量减少导致严重旱灾频生,让突尼斯四份之三的农地面临沙漠化的威胁。年轻的莎拉・杜米曾与父亲到访国家东部地区,亲睹沙漠化问题日益严重,因而致力为此出一分力。

2012年,她从法国移居突尼斯,并成立全民种相思(Acacias for All)计划,推动农民组成合作社,鼓励种植适合当地气候变迁的农作物,而非只栽种橄榄和杏仁。此外,她亦提倡使用崭新技术处理水源,并以天然产物及肥料取代农药。

于过去10年间,富裕的农户收入大不如前;而往后的10年,其境况更会大幅倒退。因此,我希望能遏止沙漠的扩展。

坚韧茁壮的相思树(acacia)对杜米的项目至关重要,它的树根深入地底,为泥土带来重要的氮元素和淡水,有助促进土地修复及防止水土流失或盐化。相思树形成的阿拉伯树胶(gum arabic),与萃取自另一种植物的辣木粉(moringa powder),让农民赚取可观收入。杜米估计一片种有20款不同品种的树、蔬菜及药用植物的一公顷土地,每年将可带来30,000美元的收入。

截至2016年9月,杜米及其组织成功协助当地居民,在20片试验农地种植了逾130,000棵相思树。她希望于未来两年种植十倍数量的相思树,令50,000公顷土地回复肥沃,并推广项目至阿尔及利亚和摩洛哥。

  • 130,000棵

    2016年在20片试验农地的相思树种植量

  • 300万棵

    保育突尼斯可耕地区所需的相思树数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Sarah ToumiHolding back the Sahara

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Sarah Toumi has returned to Tunisia, her father’s homeland, and is determined to restore the land, which is suffering from desertification, and reduce poverty by introducing sustainable farming practices.

locationTunisia

Less rainfall and more severe droughts are threatening to turn three-quarters of Tunisia’s agricultural lands into desert. As a young girl, Sarah Toumi witnessed this degradation when travelling with her father in the east of the country. She resolved to do something about it.

In 2012, she moved to Tunisia from France and set up Acacias for All, organizing farmers into cooperatives and encouraging them to plant crops more suited to the changing environment, in addition to olives and almonds. She also encouraged them to use new technologies for water treatment, along with natural products and fertilizers rather than pesticides.

Within 10 years rich farmers became worse off, and in 10 years from now they will be poor. I wanted to stop the desert in its tracks.

Central to Toumi’s programme is the tough acacia tree, whose long roots bring to the surface essential nitrogen and fresh water to revitalize the land and prevent further erosion and salinization. The gum arabic it produces – along with moringa powder from another plant – have the potential to provide an income for farmers. Toumi estimates that if they plant 20 species of trees, and vegetables and medicinal plants, on a single hectare of land, they can earn up to US$30,000 a year.

By September 2016, Toumi and her organization had helped locals plant more than 130,000 acacia trees on 20 pilot farms. She expects to increase this number tenfold in the next two years, restoring 50,000 hectares to fertility, and to extend the programme to Algeria and Morocco.

  • 130,000

    Acacia trees planted on 20 pilot farms in 2016

  • 3 million

    Acacia trees needed to protect Tunisia’s arable spaces

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page