湯瑪士・迪亞涅非洲龜的救星

發布日期: 1998年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

高瞻遠矚的博物學家湯瑪士・迪亞涅(Tomas Diagne)指出,壽命長達150年的蘇卡達象龜數目漸減,為此需加以保育。

地點塞內加爾

湯瑪士・迪亞涅年少時已非常愛護動物。他於1990年代初在家鄉塞內加爾開始養殖烏龜,但相信他當時未有料及自己會在日後成為這方面的國際專家。年前,他着手把蘇卡達象龜放生野外,這項先導保育工作現已取得成果,他亦將目光放至整個非洲。

大家都以為我只對龜類感興趣。事實上,保護物種並無先後之分,整個生態系統才是關鍵。

迪亞涅是國際組織龜鱉生存聯盟(Turtle Survival Alliance,TSA)非洲團隊的主席。他在諾佛萊耶(Noflaye)籌建「村莊」,保護塞內加爾的瀕危龜種,當中包括巨型蘇卡達象龜,而迪亞涅便憑此項目於1998年獲頒授勞力士雄才偉略大獎。

諾佛萊耶設施其後交由他的同事管理,他則着手參與一系列的實地項目。他於2004年起在塞內加爾北部創建一個以社區為本的野生動物保護區,藉此保護當地安氏非洲泥龜岌岌可危的棲息地。而他最關心的項目莫過於非洲龜類協會(African Chelonian Institute),這是非洲首個研究及保護非洲龜種的中心。迪亞涅曾於2011年表示:「傳承知識非常重要,我們互相交流經驗,並分享所學到的東西。」

迪亞涅現正撰寫非洲陸龜及水龜的實地鑑別指南,他期望有天能夠實現夢想,完成一部有關龜類的百科全書。

  • 4,500名

    諾佛萊耶龜村首年接待的遊客數目

  • 14至21枚

    雌性龜在每年12月至4月期間兩次產蛋數目

  • 3隻

    迪亞涅在首個保護區養殖的烏龜數目,此保護區於1992年在其父的農場內成立

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Tomas Diagne

Africa’s turtle saviour

Published in 1998clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

A visionary naturalist, Tomas Diagne observed that the African spurred tortoise, which can live for more than 150 years, was becoming rare and decided to save it.

locationSenegal

When young animal lover Tomas Diagne began collecting tortoises at home in Senegal in the early 1990s, little did he know that one day he would become a world expert. Today, his pioneering conservation work to return the Sulcata tortoise to the wild has proved so successful it has spurred him to expand his vision across Africa.

People think that I am only interested in tortoises, but there is no one species that should take priority – it is the whole ecosystem that counts.

Diagne, who chairs the African group of the global partnership TSA (Turtle Survival Alliance), won a Rolex Award in 1998 for his plan to establish a “village” in Noflaye for Senegal’s endangered tortoise species, in particular the giant Sulcata.

Having handed the Noflaye facility over to his co-workers, he is now leading a range of field projects. Since 2004 he has been involved in founding a community-based wildlife reserve in northern Senegal to protect the critical habitats of the Adanson’s mud terrapin. But the project closest to his heart is the continent’s first organization for the study and conservation of all African turtle species, the African Chelonian Institute. “It’s vital to pass on knowledge,” said Diagne, in 2011, “to exchange our experiences, and share all we’ve learned.”

Diagne is writing a book about West African turtles, tortoises and terrapins, and one day hopes to complete his great work, a definitive encyclopaedia on his beloved subject.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page