當奴・佩利暢遊雨林高處

發布日期: 1984年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

企業家當奴・佩利(Donald Perry)以往曾是生物學家,現在他發展出新遊覽方式,讓遊客、學生及科學家等探索雨林樹冠中的生物樂園,他稱之為「叢林大陸」(Arboreal Continent)。

地點哥斯達黎加

熱帶雨林的頂層是蘊藏各式各樣生物的寶庫,地球上四成已知的物種棲息於此。要深入雨林樹冠研究是一大挑戰,因此這裏數以百萬計的物種當中,估計有75%或以上仍未為科學界所知。

讓遊客乘坐纜車遊歷森林樹冠,可有效減低遊客對大自然造成的影響。遊客以步行方式遊覽會造成嚴重破壞,尤其是土壤的侵蝕破壞。在這裡我們把人類困在籠子裏,而非動物!

儘管如此,當奴・佩利的巧思讓這極其微妙的世界變得觸手可及。經過多年來不斷研發各種考察用的載具,佩利終於成功克服研究這些林冠動植物時所面對的困難。

1970年代,佩利率先建造了連結樹冠的繩索網絡,是全球首個樹冠索道。然而使用這種索道並不容易,其輓具和滑輪系統只有身手矯健的科學家才能駕馭。後來,他利用不銹鋼纜、堅固的鋼籠及無線控制系統建成了自動林冠勘探網絡(Automated Web for Canopy Exploration,簡稱「AWCE」),並因此獲得勞力士大獎。及後為求滿足遊客對樹冠世界的好奇,佩利在哥斯達黎加建造了雨林架空纜車(Rain Forest Aerial Tram),是第一個零軌距(zero-gauge)架空索道及全球首個樹冠纜車,對大自然幾乎沒有任何影響。佔地400公頃的雨林獲購置並得以保存。

他目前正在國際間牽頭進行籌款,目的是讓傷健人士能夠深入樹冠。佩利的生態纜車(Ecotram)是一種自行操作的移動裝置,有如懸在電纜上的高爾夫球車,任何人均可乘坐。

  • 40%

    在熱帶雨林樹冠中發現的物種佔全球物種比例

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close

Donald R. PerryRiding high in the rain forest

Published in 1984clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Biologist turned entrepreneur Donald Perry has made it possible for tourists, students and scientists alike to explore the biological wonderland that thrives at the top of the rain forest, a realm he calls the “Arboreal Continent”.

locationCosta Rica

The tree tops of tropical rain forests are a treasure trove of biodiversity, home to 40 per cent of all species found on our planet. But accessing the canopy presents challenges and means that an estimated 75 per cent or more of these millions of species remain unknown to science.

Riding a tram into the canopies is exceptionally good for nature in that the tourists are controlled. Foot traffic can cause terrible damage, particularly erosion. I like to say that here we put the people in the cage, not the animals!

Thanks to Donald Perry's ingenuity, however, this fabulously complex world has been brought within touching distance. By developing various research vehicles over the years, Perry has overcome difficulties in studying the flora and fauna of these canopy communities.

In the 1970s Perry pioneered an interconnected web of ropes strung between treetops that became the world’s first canopy zipline. But the harness and pulley system required scientists to be extremely athletic. Next he built the Automated Web for Canopy Exploration (AWCE) using a stainless steel cable, a rigid steel cage and wireless controls, for which he won a Rolex Award. But tourists wanted to come along for the ride, too, so Perry developed the Rain Forest Aerial Tram in Costa Rica, the first zero-gauge cableway and the world’s first canopy ski-lift, with virtually no impact on nature.

He is currently spearheading an international fund-raising campaign to make the canopy accessible to physically challenged people. Perry’s Ecotram is a self-driven mobility device – much like a golf cart on a cable – that can be enjoyed by everyone.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page