伊莉莎白・尼高爾絲艱鉅任務

發布日期: 2000年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

古生物學家伊莉莎白・尼高爾絲(Elizabeth Nicholls)克服無數障礙,在加拿大一個偏遠地區發掘出2.2億年歷史的巨型海洋爬行動物化石。

地點加拿大

已故的伊莉莎白・尼高爾絲與團隊所找到的魚龍(ichthyosaur)化石長逾21米,是目前為止所知體型最大的史前海洋爬行類動物,其外觀上與海豚相似,有着修長的口鼻構造。

看到這件前所未見的巨大魚龍化石,讓我非常大開眼界。

後來被尼高爾絲命名為西卡尼秀尼魚龍(Shonisaurus sikanniensis)的爬行動物化石,於1991年在英屬哥倫比亞一個與世隔絕的地區、西卡尼酋長河(Sikanni Chief River)地勢不平且林木茂盛的河堤中出土,那裏有許多蚊子並常有熊出沒。

化石因常遭河水覆蓋而受到嚴重的侵蝕威脅,其偏遠位置令古生物學家只能於每個夏季短暫逗留數星期進行發掘工作。尼高爾絲與同樣來自艾伯塔省(Alberta)皇家泰瑞爾博物館(Royal Tyrrell Museum)的團隊於1999年至2001年間分別進行了三次艱鉅的發掘旅程,才成功讓這僅頭骨已重達1.5噸的巨大化石出土。

這位加拿大及美國古生物學家於2004年10月與世長辭。2008年,博物館展出化石並就尼高爾絲於發掘這巨大海洋生物化石過程中擔當的重要角色而向她致意。現在她的團隊繼續進行相關研究。

  • 2.2億年

    尼高爾絲在石灰岩層下所發掘的魚龍化石歷史

  • 1.5噸

    魚龍化石的頭骨重量

  • 4年

    從石灰岩層中發掘魚龍化石所需的時間

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Elizabeth L. NichollsA giant task

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Palaeontologist Elizabeth Nicholls overcame numerous obstacles to extract the fossilized remains of a 220 million year-old, giant marine reptile in a remote region of Canada.

locationCanada

At more than 21 metres long, the ichthyosaur, whose remains were recovered by the late Elizabeth Nicholls and her colleagues, is the biggest prehistoric marine reptile found to date, similar in appearance to a dolphin, with a slender, elongated snout.

I was overwhelmed. It was the largest ichthyosaur I had ever seen.

Later named Shonisaurus sikanniensis by Nicholls, the reptile was discovered in 1991 in an isolated area of British Columbia, embedded in a bank of the Sikanni Chief River in densely wooded, uneven terrain infested with mosquitoes and visited by bears.

Frequently submerged by the river, the fossil was under serious threat of erosion, but its remote location prevented palaeontologists from reaching it for more than a few weeks every summer. It took Nicholls and her colleagues from the Royal Tyrrell Museum in Alberta three gruelling excursions to the site between 1999 and 2001 to extract the huge fossil, whose skull alone weighs 1.5 tonnes.

Nicholls, a Canadian-American, died in October 2004. In 2008, the museum exhibited the fossil along with a tribute to Nicholls, focusing on her key role in recovering the giant sea creature. Her colleagues are continuing her research.

  • 220 million

    Age, in years, of the ichthyosaur fossil Nicholls extracted from a limestone bed

  • 1.5 tonnes

    Weight of the ichthyosaur fossil's skull

  • 4

    Years it took to remove the ichthyosaur from its limestone matrix

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page