比利・李・莱斯利促进繁殖

发布日期: 1978年clock阅读需时: 40s
scroll-down

圈养繁殖是部分濒危鸟类的最后希望。来自美国的比利・李・莱斯利(Billy Lee Lasley)在圣地亚哥动物园(San Diego Zoo)负责内分泌学研究,他成功找出一种能确定鸟类性别的无创检测方法。

地点美国

四十年前的濒危鸟类繁殖计划,往往因难以识别具生育能力的配偶而告吹。因此,这种无创方式将有助从羽毛没有差异的雌雄鸟类中,辨认性别和生殖状态。比利・李・莱斯利认为有需要找到一种既经济且无压力的简单性别鉴定法,而他最终研发出一个以粪便监测和性类固醇比例为基础的系统(现由更具体的基因检测所取代)。

用以确定鸟类性生活的荷尔蒙代谢物监测,能广泛应用于动物和人体研究。

研究初期的重点是运用相关技术来辅助动物园的外来物种繁殖,以及管理自由放养动物的生育,随后,这项工作扩展至其他科学领域,包括了解人类早期流产,检视环境灾害对繁殖的不利影响,及监测年龄与生殖健康的关系。当此技术延伸至人类研究,资金来源亦相对充裕。

莱斯利的研究目前集中在人类生殖与不孕问题,妇女的生殖健康和年龄是当中的要点。有关研究现于加州大学戴维斯分校(University of California, Davis)进行,莱斯利是该校加州国家灵长类动物研究中心(California National Primate Research Center)的名誉教授。

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

Billy Lee LasleyPromoting propagation

Published in 1978clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

Captive breeding is the last hope for some endangered birds. American Billy Lee Lasley was working as a research endocrinologist at the San Diego Zoo when he developed a non-invasive method for determining the sex of birds.

locationUnited States

Forty years ago breeding programmes for endangered birds often foundered on the difficulty of identifying fertile breeding pairs. Therefore it was necessary to develop a non-invasive method to determine the gender and reproductive status of birds that have no plumage variation between the sexes. Billy Lasley understood that a simple gender-assigning method that was economical and stress-free was required and developed a system (now superseded by more specific genetic testing) based on the fecal monitoring of sex steroid ratios.

The development of hormone metabolite monitoring for determining the sex life of birds has led to broad applications in both animal and human studies.

While early years of research were directed towards the application of the technology as an adjunct in propagating exotic species in zoos and managing the reproduction of free-ranging animals, that work has expanded into other scientific arenas, including the understanding of early pregnancy loss in humans, detecting adverse effects of environmental hazards on reproduction and monitoring reproductive health in the context of aging. Funding for this technology became common when it was extended to human studies.

The current focus of Lasley’s study is now focused mainly on human reproduction and infertility with an emphasis on women’s reproductive health and women’s healthy aging. These studies are currently conducted at the University of California, Davis where Lasley is Professor Emeritus at the California National Primate Research Center.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page