於rolex.org搜尋

柯姆・托賓與哥連・巴雷特攜手追求卓越愛爾蘭文學

發布日期: 2020年1月閱讀需時: 3分44秒

愛爾蘭作家哥連・巴雷特(Colin Barrett)的導師柯姆・托賓(Colm Tóibín)同樣來自愛爾蘭,並曾出版十多部著名作品,他們二人在指導年間討論寫作方式。在托賓的鼓勵下,巴雷特成功完成首部小說《英格蘭兄弟》(The English Brothers)。

撰文: 莎拉・克朗普頓(Sarah Crompton)2020年1月
  • 柯姆・托賓
    導師
  • 哥連・巴雷特
    門生

作家柯姆・托賓說:「我們暢所欲言,猶勝親人。如果我與親人談及小說所運用的過去完成時態,他們肯定會說:『你能否別喋喋不休地談論寫作技巧,好讓我們在家中享受片刻寧靜?』 因此,我很慶幸身邊有另一位作家,與我一同探討此等要事。我與他之間的交流,實是旁人無法比擬。」

縱觀勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)的各個領域,文學範疇的合作關係最為微妙且難以捉摸。作家獨自寫作,不會同台演出,別人亦不會看到他們製作藝術品、電影或是設計建築物。然而,托賓形容他和哥連・巴雷特過去兩年建立的聯繫,已逐步發展成一段「文學友誼」。「我們會談論如何處理風格,又或如何處理結構,但當中從不缺歡笑聲、輕鬆話題及樂趣,就如男士討論足球一樣。」

巴雷特亦表示認同。他說:「這份友誼彌足珍貴。我的收穫超出預期。柯姆是我的良師,他明白我需要甚麼空間,又會一直從旁協助。」

指導開始之際,現年37歲的巴雷特剛完成一部得獎短篇小說集《格蘭貝的年輕人》(Young Skins),並著手撰寫另一部小說。他解釋:「柯姆助我更加專注。新書令我陷入一片迷茫,進退失據,這實屬自然不過的事。他幫了我很多,為我注入信心和認同感。這讓我體會到 『原來有人從我的寫作和書中看出優點』。」

從一開始,托賓便很清楚自己有甚麼可以或不可以做。「我不是為他編輯書籍,那不是我的工作。我也沒有教導他。我不曾說:『那是錯的,或是我認為你需要……』我們只是在閒聊,看看會發生甚麼事情。」

柯姆是我的良師,他明白我需要甚麼空間,又會一直從旁協助。

哥連・巴雷特,2018至2019年度文學門生

及後,托賓突然需要接受癌症治療,他們的關係亦暫告一段落。即便如此,他們仍舊通過電郵保持聯絡,而自他康復後,二人一直定期見面。巴雷特居於多倫多,托賓則在紐約的哥倫比亞大學(Columbia University)任教,因此他們多在兩地以及愛爾蘭聚首。但最令二人難忘的是,托賓帶同巴雷特前往加泰羅尼亞比利牛斯山脈(Catalan Pyrenees)的國家藝術中心(Centre d'Art i Natura)參加國際藝術家聚會。托賓每年也會盡量抽空出席這個活動。

兩星期間,他們會在開車取餐或一同吃晚飯期間討論寫作。巴雷特正在創作小說,而托賓亦受湯馬斯・曼(Thomas Mann)一生的啟發,全情投入一個重要的新計劃。「這是我的第10部小說,也是我撰寫的第12個虛構故事,但我還是有點猶豫。因此,我在想與其賣弄或是自誇,倒不如讓他看到比他年長的人,也會像他一樣擔心筆下創作的小說,這或許能帶來一點幫助。」

在托賓的早期創作生涯中,他與愛爾蘭知名作家約翰・麥加恩(John McGahern)有著相似的經歷,麥加恩在撰寫名著《女性之間》(Amongst Women)時也曾心生疑惑。「我剛找到一封信,他在信中寫道:『這讓我感到精疲力竭。』 我十分明白他的處境。而這對我甚有幫助,讓我意識到自己永遠無法安定下來,也不會肯定『我知道該怎麼做』。」

二人之間的討論,對巴雷特同樣受用。「他實事求是,而寫作正是從具體細節出發,不斷嘗試並運用所學技巧,有時成功,有時徒勞,而且會不時迷失方向。他對此總是抱持開放態度。當然,這源於充足的能力和自信,知道自己能夠勝任。承認自己並非萬無一失,絕對是坦誠的表現。這使我深受啟發。」

我們在都柏林碰面,這裡是托賓的家,而生於梅奧郡(County Mayo)的巴雷特,也在都柏林開展了他的文學生涯,在大學攻讀文學創意碩士課程,並發表了他的首批作品。二人在當地主持工作坊,進行演講,並在蓋特劇院(Gate Theatre)公演托賓的新劇《蒼白姊妹》(Pale Sister),劇院現由勞力士往屆戲劇門生莎蓮娜・卡密爾(Selina Cartmell)擔任藝術總監。

托賓對創作全情投入,滿載熱情,巴雷特從旁觀察亦獲益匪淺。他說:「很高興能看到別人展示如何將藝術和創作藝術的過程融入生活之中。作為藝術家,你將如何維持生計? 我注意到柯姆一直創作,作品持續面世。他的工作跨越多個領域,他亦樂於嘗試不同事物,這使我意識到自己不能只專注於同一項目,而是要接觸更廣泛的社群。如欲以藝術為生,便需在身邊建立自己的網絡。」

對巴雷特而言,勞力士的指導期現可無條件延長至兩年以上,實在難得。他說:「你只需花時間試驗並加以嘗試便可。過程好比一條弧線。不單是停止和開始。中間還會演變。我曾與一些往屆門生交談,他們都說從計劃所獲的一切,能夠應用於日後的工作。而創作所帶來的影響,更是畢生受用。」

儘管二人同樣生於愛爾蘭,但由於成長年代不同,在國家不斷變化下,個性亦迥然不同。然而,正是當中的差異,促成一段成果豐碩的關係。他們一起總是體現出慷慨精神,令人窩心。托賓指自己有時也會在想:「究竟是誰在向誰學習?」他說:「眼見哥連力臻完善,暢談重寫和放慢節奏的心得,令我啟發甚深。」

巴雷特則認為,托賓的感染力和好奇心源源不息,令人振奮。「即使他成就斐然,但絕不沾沾自喜。他大可滿足於現狀,但他卻保持熱情,充滿幹勁。我也希望像他一樣。」

莎拉・克朗普頓是英國一位備受推祟的作家和廣播員,涉獵各個文化與藝術領域。她的作品在《衛報》(The Guardian)、《星期日泰晤士報》(The Sunday Times)、《泰晤士報》(The Times)及《觀察家報》(The Observer)等刊登。

計劃

勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃

探索

Colm Tóibín & Colin BarrettThe shared pursuit of Irish literary laurels

Published in January 2020icon-clockTime to read: 1m30s
icon-scroll-down

Irish writer Colin Barrett and his mentor, fellow Irishman Colm Tóibín acclaimed author of a dozen books, spent their mentorship discussing the mechanics of writing. Tóibín’s encouragement helped Barrett to complete his first novel, The English Brothers.

by Sarah Crompton January 2020
  • Colm Tóibín
    The Mentor
  • Colin Barrett
    The Protégé

“We’ve been able to talk in a way that you just can’t even with your loved ones,” says the writer Colm Tóibín of his mentorship with young Irish writer Colin Barrett. “If you start talking to them about the way you use the pluperfect tense in a novel, then they’re going to say, ‘Can we actually have a bit of peace in this house, without you going on about the technique of writing?’ So, to have another writer around, for whom these are also pressing matters, was great. I could talk to him in a way that I couldn’t talk to someone else.”

Of all the disciplines in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative, the literature partnership is the most delicate and elusive. Writers write alone; they don’t collaborate on putting on a show; you can’t watch them making a work of art, or a film or designing a building. But the bond that has developed between Tóibín and Colin Barrett over the past two years has grown, says Tóibín, into “a literary friendship... How you deal with style, how you deal with structure, those are the things we’ve talked about, but there’s been an awful lot of laughter, gossip and fun as well, the way some guys might talk about football.”

Barrett agrees. “It’s a friendship as much as anything else,” he says. “I’ve got more than I could have expected out of it. Colm is just an intuitively good teacher, and he understood what space to give me, but at the same time, to be there, to be attentive.”

When the mentorship began, Barrett, who is now 37, had completed a prize-winning book of short-stories, Young Skins; he had also begun writing a novel. “Colm just helped me focus on it,” he explains. “I was just bogged down, in the middle of nowhere with the book, which is a completely typical thing that happens. It was an outside injection; he really helped me, gave me confidence, validation. It made me feel: ‘Well, someone sees some merit in my writing and in this book’.”

From the outset, Tóibín was very clear about what he could and could not do. “I wasn’t editing his book for him, that’s not my job. I wasn’t teaching him, either. I didn’t say ‘That’s wrong, or I think you really need…’ We were just hanging out to see what would happen.”

Colm is just an intuitively good teacher, and he understood what space to give me, but at the same time, to be there, to be attentive.

Colin Barrett, 2018-2019 Literature Protégé

Their relationship was interrupted when Tóibín unexpectedly had to undergo treatment for cancer. But even then, they stayed in touch by email and since his recovery, have managed to see each other regularly. Barrett is based in Toronto and Tóibín teaches at Columbia University in New York, so they spent time together there as well as in Ireland. But their most memorable spell was when Tóibín took Barrett to the international artists retreat at Centre d’Art i Natura in the Catalan Pyrenees, which he tries to visit every year.

Over a fortnight, they talked through the business of writing, perhaps when they were driving to pick up provisions, or in the evenings over dinner. Barrett was working on his novel, but Tóibín was also deep in a major new project inspired by the life of Thomas Mann. “This is my 10th novel, my 12th work of fiction and I am still uncertain. That’s why I thought I might make a difference, without showing off, or boasting, but just by letting him see someone older who is still as worried about the novel I am working on as he is about his.”

In his own early career, Tóibín had a similar relationship with the great Irish writer John McGahern who shared his doubts as he was writing his famous novel Amongst Women. “I’ve just dug out a letter in which he wrote to say: ‘This is killing me.’ And I believed him. So that was useful to me, realising that you can never ever settle down and think ‘I know how to do this’.”

The discussions were just as useful to Barrett. “He’s just very practically minded about it and writing is nuts and bolts, it’s trying things, using techniques you’ve learnt and found, and sometimes it lands and sometimes it doesn’t, and you do get periodically lost in stuff. He was always very open about that. But of course, that only comes from being competent and assured and knowing you can do it. It’s the honesty of someone who knows what it takes to admit they are not infallible. That was inspiring to me.”

We are talking in Dublin, where Tóibín has a home and where Barrett, who was born in County Mayo, began his literary career, studying for an MA in creative writing at the university and getting his first stories published. They are there to lead a workshop, give a talk and launch Tóibín’s new play Pale Sister, at the Gate Theatre, now under the artistic directorship of former Rolex theatre protégée Selina Cartmell.

Simply observing the breadth and enthusiasm of Tóibín’s commitments has also been an example for Barrett. “It’s good to see someone show you how to incorporate art and the process of making art into your life,” he says. “How do you live as an artist? I see Colm keeps working, keeps producing stuff. Seeing him working across disciplines, being open to trying different things and to giving things a go, reminded me that you can’t get too consumed in one project because you need to be part of a wider community. If you are going to try to make a living out of making art, you have to build a network around you to support you.”

For Barrett, the fact that the Rolex mentorship is now extended over two years with no conditions attached has also been valuable. “What you need is just the time to experiment and try things,” he says. “There’s an arc to it. It doesn’t just feel like it stops and starts. It can evolve. I talked to some of the other former protégés and they said all they took from the scheme had fed into their subsequent work. The creative repercussions of it stay with you.”

The two men may both be born in Ireland, but they are separated by the difference of the eras in which they grew up, by a changing country and by their very different personalities. Yet it is partly those differences that have made their relationship so fruitful; seeing them together the generosity and warmth of their relationship is clear. Tóibín says that there would have been moments when “you wondered who was learning more from whom… Watching Colin’s determination to get it right, talking about rewriting, talking about moving slowly, I was inspired by that,” he says.

For Barrett, it was Tóibín’s ongoing and infectious curiosity that was so uplifting. “There is nothing complacent about him at all, even though he has achieved all he has achieved. He absolutely could rest on his laurels and he doesn’t. He still has that passion and that energy. I’d love to be like that.”

Sarah Crompton is one of Britain’s most respected writers and broadcasters, commentating on all aspects of culture and the arts. Her work appears in The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Times and The Observer, among others.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover