菲力普・格拉斯与宝芝・佐佐木正确音调

发布日期: 2018年clock阅读需时: 2m50s
scroll-down

日裔秘鲁作曲家宝芝・佐佐木(Pauchi Sasaki)与菲力普・格拉斯(Philip Glass)惺惺相惜,这位前卫的作曲家与佐佐木分享毕生经验,其音乐充分体现了人性的一面。

撰文: 史蒂文・瑟拉赫(Steven Thrasher) 2018年1月
  • 菲利普・格拉斯(Philip Glass)
    导师
  • 宝芝・佐佐木(Pauchi Sasaki)
    门生

于首数月的指导中,日裔秘鲁作曲家宝芝・佐佐木紧随菲利普・格拉斯的步伐,尽管格拉斯正迈向人生第九十个年头,但却未有在作曲与表演方面放慢脚步。佐佐木先从秘鲁前往日本,观赏钢琴家行川茉树(Maki Namekawa)演奏格拉斯的《20首钢琴练习曲》(20 Piano Etudes),然后抵达阿姆斯特丹欣赏菲力普・格拉斯乐团现场演绎他于1982年为电影《失衡生活》(Koyaanisqatsi)创作的配乐。

格拉斯于过去数十年一直长驻纽约的东村街区,二人的指导关系亦由此不断升华。佐佐木指:“我们不时聊天、喝茶,有时他会做三明治,其间听到不少故事。”这位全球最具影响力的作曲家之一,让佐佐木明白到作曲的真谛。格拉斯创作过11部交响曲、超过20部歌剧、协奏曲、电影配乐、弦乐四重奏以及钢琴和风琴独奏作品。佐佐木则为舞蹈团和电影创作音乐,亦有制作既可穿戴又可发声的视觉艺术杰作,当她知道能够与格拉斯合作,便毅然放弃报读美国的博士学位。

一个凉爽的秋日傍晚,格拉斯坐在“The Kitchen”的观众席上,他曾在这个重要的艺术空间中多次演出。长笛演奏家克莱尔・蔡斯(Claire Chase)与她委托的多位音乐家一同表演;最后,她站在舞台上,在红色灯光映照下,身穿由佐佐木以200台小型白色扬声器制作的非凡连身裙。

蔡斯演出佐佐木创作的GAMA XV:Piece for Two Speaker Dresses,后者亦走到舞台上,演奏经加工的小提琴,并穿上由黑色扬声器制成的连身裙。两件连身裙传出小提琴与长笛二重奏,超凡脱俗且神秘无测。佐佐木与格拉斯的音乐仿佛挑战着听众的时间观念。格拉斯使用细腻、多层次、鲜明的重复结构,令听众忘却时间流逝;而佐佐木则采用更为自由流动的方式,慢悠轻松且难以忘怀。

一个月后,格拉斯在卡内基音乐厅(Carnegie Hall)举行80岁生日庆典,佐佐木有幸欣赏其两大首演之作。丹尼斯・罗素・戴维斯(Dennis Russell Davies)负责指挥纽约首演,并由安洁莉克・琪蒂欧(Angélique Kidjo)以约鲁巴语演唱的《罗辛哈的日与夜》(Days and Nights in Rocinha);以及全球首演的《第11号交响曲》(Symphony No. 11),此管弦乐曲丰富完整,其断奏与《十二乐章》(Music in Twelve Parts)等格拉斯早期的合奏作品相近。在卡内基音乐厅细赏导师的首演新作,让佐佐木能够作好准备,在格拉斯的协助下,其GAMA XVI for Orchestra and Electronics于2017年底在同一场地完成首演。

翌年夏天的一个温暖下午,格拉斯邀请佐佐木到他的曼哈顿宅邸。格拉斯在厨房的长木桌上,以玻璃杯呈上荷兰薄荷茶,而佐佐木则兴奋地向他展示个人出版公司的文件。格拉斯很高兴,因为他总是鼓励作曲家效仿自己,发表个人作品。

这本应是二人在劳力士指导年中的最后一次正式会面,但格拉斯同意在非正式的情况下继续指导。

他们几乎无所不谈,其中一个话题就是洛杉矶或纽约生活的利弊。格拉斯观察到,不少好莱坞电影作曲家也非常友善。

他说:“让我解释一下,我曾数次获得奥斯卡金像奖提名[《时时刻刻》(The Hours)、《丑闻笔记》(Notes on a Scandal)及《昆丹》(Kundun)]。而每年在奥斯卡金像奖颁奖典礼的前一晚,也会为候选人举行派对。”格拉斯很高兴有人站起来向数十名作曲家敬酒:“我们真替你感到欣喜。猜猜怎么着?明年将会是我们。”格拉斯解释:“就是这种态度。今年是你,明年是我。再下一年?谁知道?”

格拉斯喜欢这种情谊,也喜欢与其他电影作曲家谈论正在合作的导演。他说:“伍迪・艾伦(Woody Allen)是梦寐以求的合作伙伴[《卡珊德拉之梦》(Cassandra's Dream)]。”尽管马丁・斯科塞斯(Martin Scorsese)[《昆丹》]要求甚高,但“他很聪明,会告诉我他正在做什么”。格拉斯能够理解音乐如何与灯光和人物互动。

格拉斯提醒,经验不足的导演或会较有防备。曾为30部短片及电影配乐的佐佐木,对此表示赞同。

音乐无疑是人与人之间的交流,若然没有交流,一切也是徒劳。

格拉斯笑说:“这是另一个故事。我在洛杉矶街头走着,碰上一个垂头丧气的人,原来他刚被电影公司解雇。”格拉斯安慰他说:“哦,我经常也被解雇,别去想吧。”

他告诉佐佐木一旦事情发生在自己身上,也无需介怀。“倘若剪接出错,他们首先做的事就是解雇作曲家,因为这是最低廉的解决方法,比返回场地重拍来得便宜。”

在作曲家如何管理时间的话题上,格拉斯注意到:“一般来说,我们一直都在听音乐。”格拉斯年轻时,会以四小时为单位,规定工作时间。“有时灵感于晚上涌现,我却会说:‘我绝不会起床。早上才是创作的时候。当我准备就绪好时,灵感便会再次涌现。’”

“不过,最近情况发生了变化。如果我无法入睡,我会起床下楼创作一段时间。当我75岁时,便心想:‘我可以随时创作。’为自己的习惯改变做好准备,因为习惯会自然而变,但你却不知为何。某些事发生后,你便会开始以另一种方式工作。你并非在背叛自己。”

佐佐木问:“身为作曲家,你曾否出现恍然大悟的时刻?会否对自己说:‘这就是我,这是菲利普・格拉斯的音乐?’”

格拉斯回想1960年代在巴黎获得富布赖特(Fulbright)奖学金。巧合地,塞缪尔・贝克特(Samuel Beckett)住在同一区,格拉斯的艺术团队便开始为贝克特的戏剧制作音乐。“我在接下来的数年里,为他写了九个不同的作品。那段时间,我替贝克特创作音乐,也知道这是自己的音乐。”

佐佐木说:“菲利普,这解释了为何你擅长电影配乐,因为你的音乐是由戏剧与对白而来的!”她一脸惊喜,恍然大悟:“一切都顺理成章。”

格拉斯特进一步解释,贝克特运用了“称为‘切割’的方式”,当中人物的故事以非线性形式分开叙述。这意味角色的“顿悟”不会如莎士比亚般在可预测的时刻发生。

“我在聆听贝克特的作品,顿悟之处每每不同。我想:‘这是什么?发生了什么事?’我意识到顿悟来自我与戏剧的互动,而且每晚都会有所不同。”这使格拉斯忆起作曲家约翰・凯奇(John Cage),他说:“音乐因听众而圆满。”他补充:“我从不明白箇中意义,直到我与贝克特一起工作,我才意识到:‘我和自身的情绪使作品变得圆满。’”

佐佐木指:“这正是你与同侪在音乐的情感质量上不尽相同的原因。也许他们只把音乐视为音乐。但我更像你,我们通过……”

格拉斯续说:“……通过其他事物来接触音乐。”

她覆述:“其他事物。”

他为贝克特的戏剧和让・谷克多(Jean Cocteau)的电影创作音乐后,“开始创作只为聆听的作品”,格拉斯说他“没有规定听众应感受到什么。我假设[听众]会为之赋予意义……我认为音乐本身没有任何意思,只是富有意义。富有意义是指充满含义,但却没有说明意义何在”。

音乐因听众而圆满。

佐佐木说:“我想向你展示我的构图。”这是为其作品GAMA XVI而制作的配乐,极具视觉效果,故以绘图形式呈现表演的最终模样。

格拉斯全神贯注地研究构图并评论:“这是张很好的构图,也是个很好的开始。伯・威尔逊(Bob Wilson)与我亦曾以这种方式合作[二人一同创作《沙滩上的爱因斯坦》(Einstein on the Beach)]。

佐佐木在离开前询问,她可否为二人的双手留影,于是格拉斯便在桌上将其宽大且充满岁月痕迹的手放于佐佐木的小手旁边。她感谢格拉斯过去一年的指导:“我喜欢这双密布生命线的手。将我的手与你相比,就如一场教导。这实是回忆的象征。”

他笑道:“但我们不会停止见面。没有什么比音乐家的生活更频繁社交。我们总是和人打交道。音乐实际上是你与另一人之间的交流,若没有交流,一切也是徒然。”

至于指导方面,他说:“这是资深作曲家的工作。”

佐佐木告诉他:“我答应你,当我的阅历变得丰富,我会成为导师。”

“我知道你会的。”

史蒂文・瑟拉赫是《美国卫报》(Guardian Us)的作家。其作品刊于《纽约时报》(New York Times)、《村声》(Village Voice)、《滚石》(Rolling Stone)杂志等。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

分享此页面

Philip Glass & Pauchi SasakiThe right acoustics

Published in 2018clockTime to read: 2m50s
scroll-down

Japanese-Peruvian composer Pauchi Sasaki finds a kindred soul in Philip Glass who opens up a lifetime of experience as an avant-garde composer whose music wells from a deep humanity.

by Steven Thrasher January 2018
  • Philip Glass
    The Mentor
  • Pauchi Sasaki
    The Protégé

In the first few months of her mentorship, Japanese-Peruvian composer Pauchi Sasaki rushed to keep up with Philip Glass, who – though entering his ninth decade – is not slowing down as a composer and performer. Sasaki first travelled from Peru to Japan, to see pianist Maki Namekawa perform Glass’s 20 Piano Etudes, and then to Amsterdam to observe the Philip Glass Ensemble perform his score for the 1982 film Koyaanisqatsi at a live screening.

But it was in New York City, where Glass has been a fixture in the East Village for decades, that the mentorship flourished. “It’s often talking, or drinking tea, or him making a sandwich,” says Sasaki, “when some story will come up,” allowing her to learn about what it means to be a composer from one of the most influential in the world. Glass has written 11 symphonies, more than 20 operas, concertos, film soundtracks, string quartets and a body of work for solo piano and organ. Sasaki, who writes music for dance companies and films, and who also makes stunningly visual artwork that is both wearable and sonic, decided against entering a PhD programme in the US when offered the chance to work with him.

On a crisp autumn evening, Glass sat in the audience of The Kitchen, an important arts space where he has performed many times. The flautist Claire Chase played along with a variety of musicians she had commissioned; eventually, she stood onstage, in red light, in a most unusual dress, one created by Sasaki using 200 small white speakers.

Chase performed GAMA XV: Piece for Two Speaker Dresses, composed by Sasaki, who joined her on stage playing a processed violin and wearing a dress made of black speakers. The violin-flute duet, emitting ethereally through the two dresses, was otherworldly and mysterious. Both Sasaki’s and Glass’s music challenge listeners’ sense of time. But Glass’s messes with time using sophisticated, multi-layered and often sharp repeating structures, while Sasaki’s can be more free-flowing, languid and haunting.

A month later, Sasaki was able to see two of Glass’s premieres at his 80th birthday celebration at Carnegie Hall. Dennis Russell Davies conducted the New York premiere of Days and Nights in Rocinha (featuring Angélique Kidjo singing in Yoruba) and the world premiere of Symphony No. 11, a lush, full orchestral work with rhythms as staccato as those for his early ensemble works like Music in Twelve Parts. Seeing her mentor premiere new work at Carnegie Hall was a good preparation for Sasaki, whose GAMA XVI for Orchestra and Electronics premiered at the same venue in late 2017, thanks to Glass.

On a warm afternoon the following summer, Glass welcomes Sasaki into his Manhattan townhouse. After he serves spearmint tea in glass mugs at a long wooden table in his kitchen, Sasaki excitedly shows him incorporation papers for her own publishing company. Glass is pleased, as he always encourages composers to follow his lead and publish their own material.

This is supposed to be the last formal meeting of their Rolex mentorship but Glass has agreed to continue the mentorship informally.

Among the many topics they discuss are the pros and cons of life in Los Angeles or New York: Hollywood film composers are very nice to deal with, observes Glass.

“I’ll tell you why – I’ve had a few Oscar nominations [for The Hours, Notes on a Scandal and Kundun],” he says, “and every year, the night before the Oscars, there’s a party for all the nominees.” Glass was pleased when someone stood up in front of dozens of composers to toast: “We’re really happy for you, and guess what? We’ll be there next year.” And that’s the attitude, Glass explains: “This is your year, next year is my year. And the year after that? Who knows?”

Glass loves the camaraderie, and how film composers talk about directors they’re scoring for. “Woody Allen was a dream to work with [Cassandra’s Dream],” he says, and even though Martin Scorsese [Kundun] was demanding, “he was smart enough to show me what he was doing.” Glass could understand how the music interacted with lighting and characters.

Inexperienced directors, Glass warns, can be defensive. Sasaki, who has already scored 30 short and full-length films, concurs.

Music is really a transaction between you and another person – without the transaction, there’s nothing there.

“Here’s another story,” Glass says with a broad smile. “I’m walking down the street in LA and I run into someone who was upset because he’d just been fired from a movie.” Glass comforted him saying, “Oh, I get fired all the time, just forget about it.”

He advises Sasaki not to take it personally should it ever happen to her. “Let’s say something is going wrong in editing. The first thing they do is fire the composer because it’s the cheapest thing to fix – it’s cheaper than to go back and reshoot the scene.”

When the subject of organizing one’s time as a composer comes up, Glass observes that, “Generally speaking, you’re hearing music all the time.” When he was younger, he worked at set times in four-hour periods. “Sometimes I’d get an idea at night and I’d say, 'I am not going to get up. Morning is when I write. The muse will come when I am ready.”

“But lately, this has changed. If I can’t sleep, I’ll get up and go downstairs and write for a while. And when I was 75, I thought, ‘I can write whenever I want to.’ Be prepared for your habits to change, because they can change and you don’t know why. Something happens and you start to work in another way. You’re not betraying yourself.”

“Did you have a eureka moment as a composer,” asks Sasaki, “when you said to yourself, ‘This is me, this is Philip Glass music?”

Glass harks back to his Fulbright scholarship in Paris in the 1960s. By chance, Samuel Beckett lived in the same neighbourhood and Glass’s group of artists began making music for Beckett’s plays. “I wrote nine different pieces for him over the next few years. And it was during the time I was writing music for Beckett that I knew it was my music.”

“That’s why you’re so good at writing music for films, Philip, because your sound was born in theatre with dialogue!” Sasaki says, lighting up as if she were having her own eureka moment. “That makes so much sense.”

Glass further explains that Beckett used “something which we call ‘the cut up’”, in which characters’ stories were split and told in non-linear ways. This meant that the “epiphany” of characters didn’t happen at predictable moments, as they would in Shakespeare, for example.

“I was listening to a piece of Beckett’s, and the epiphany was in different places. And I thought, ‘Oh, what is this? What’s going on?’ And I realized the epiphany came according to my interaction with the play, which was different every night.” This reminds Glass of the composer John Cage, who said: “The audience completes the music.” “I never really knew what that meant,” he adds, “until I worked with the Beckett piece and I realized, ‘Oh, I am completing it. My emotion is completing it.’”

“That’s why your music has a very different emotional quality to your peers,” notes Sasaki. “Maybe they just approach music as music. But I am more like you, that we approach music through...”

“...other things,” says Glass, completing her sentence.

“Other things.” she repeats.

“After writing music for Beckett’s plays and Jean Cocteau’s films – when he began to write pieces just to listen to them” – Glass says he “didn’t dictate what you were supposed to feel. I assumed the [listener] would complete the job of meaning... I thought the music didn’t mean anything, it was just meaningful. Meaningful means full of meaning but doesn’t tell you what that meaning has to be.”

The audience completes the music.

“I want to show you my map,” says Sasaki, producing a highly visual score for her work GAMA XVI, in the form of drawings of what the performance will eventually look like.

“This is a good map. I think this is a good way to start,” Glass comments as he studies the drawings intently with his deep-set eyes. “Bob Wilson and I worked that way” [when they made Einstein on the Beach].

Before leaving, Sasaki asks if she can take a photo of their hands together, and he places his large, octogenarian hand next to her much smaller one on the wood table. “I love the hands, because they show a lot of the lifeline. And to see my hand and compare yours with mine, that’s what you’re teaching me. That’s a symbol for me to remember,” she says, as she thanks him for his year of mentorship.

“But we’re not going to stop seeing each other,” he replies with a laugh, adding: “There is nothing more intensely social than the life of a musician. We are always involved with people. Music is really a transaction between you and another person – without the transaction, there’s nothing there.”

As for mentorship, he says, “This is the job of the older composers.”

”I will do that when I am older,” Sasaki tells him. “I promise you.”

“I know you will.”

Steven Thrasher is a writer-at-large for the Guardian US. His work has appeared in The New York Times, The Village Voice and Rolling Stone amongst others.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page