藍色使命

守護地球的藍色心臟

勞力士「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃支持運用科學了解世界環境挑戰的先驅之士,尋找方法恢復生態系統的平衡,尤其是受到多方威脅的海洋

藍色使命(Mission Blue)啟發社區互助精神,鼓勵居於海洋健康未來要點的民眾捍衛汪海。這些海洋生物樂土獲組織的創辦人絲維雅・艾爾(Sylvia Earle)命名為「希望點」(Hope Spot),遍及地球藍色心臟的各處。

守護地球的藍色心臟

藍色使命

由傳奇海洋探險家絲維雅・艾爾所帶領的藍色使命,致力在世界各地建立海洋保護區網絡,守護關鍵物種及生態系統,啟發及推動當地活動,引起全球大眾對保護海洋的關注及支持。每個「希望點」均非常特別,通過科學認證對海洋健康至關重要:部分已經是受保護區域,其他則仍然有待正式保護。在艾爾的領導下,藍色使命已進行多次探險,辨別及研究這些重要的生態系統,並尋覓在未來保護它們的方式及人員。

「希望點」一方面協助減少人類對加利福尼亞灣、愛琴海、加勒比海及裏海的影響,另一方面亦保護加拉帕戈斯群島、安達曼群島及加那利群島的瀕危野生動植物,以至探索南極、帛琉及世界偏遠海洋區域中,還未受到保護的環礁、珊瑚礁、深海環境及當中生物。

近一個世紀以來,勞力士一直支持各種探險活動,其天文台精密時計伴隨探險家登上高山,潛進汪洋最偏遠漆黑的區域。現在,探險已由純粹的探索發現,逐漸成為保護地球生態系統的方式。公司長久支持海洋探索,與艾爾以及多位勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主兼海洋科學家建立合作關係。

2019年,勞力士推行「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃,為國家地理等卓越之士或組織提供支持,攜手認識、分享及保育自然界。藍色使命與勞力士的合作關係,現已成為「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃的核心之一。計劃結集各方的構思、行動及資源,銳意為人類和地球建立更安全美好的未來。

「希望點」的當地「大使」(champion)及社區與科學家合作,加深對海洋的認識,成立全新或改善現有海洋保護區,並與大眾分享受保護物種的知識,以及如何照料牠們。

「希望點」面積可大可小,但它們均是希望之源,因為:

- 海洋生物特別豐富或多樣,罕見或具代表性的物種、棲息地及生態系統

- 稀有、受威脅或特有物種的種群

- 它們具潛力扭轉人類活動造成的傷害

- 重要自然資產,例如主要的遷徙走廊或產卵場

- 它們對當地和全球民眾的歷史、文化或精神意義

- 它們對社區經濟的重要性

藍色使命銳意是在2030年前協助保護30%的海洋面積,這亦是國際自然保護同盟(International Union for Conservation of Nature,IUCN)建議的海洋健康目標。在勞力士的支持下,藍色使命致力確保海洋生態系統的美景與多樣性得以延續至後世。

為此,藍色使命採用國際前沿科學技術,並與超過200個當地及全球保育組織合作,在世界各地推行宣傳,將海洋奇觀直接帶入普通百姓及學童的家庭和生活中。

組織於2009年成立,至今已在全球建立逾130個「希望點」,當中2019年及2020年分別為21和12個。藍色使命現在直接與69個國家的社區合作,恢復及保護他們獨特的海洋環境。它通過紀錄片、社交媒體、傳統媒體、海底網路攝影機和視像技術、網絡研討會,以及其他現代教育和外展方式,宣揚其發現及活動。這讓世界各地的民眾能夠觀察、探索及欣賞深海奇觀,其中許多人更是首次經驗海洋美態,藉此推動大眾支持保育工作。

海洋是地球生命的搖籃。它需要我們的尊敬、愛護及照料。

艾爾畢生專注於海洋探索,潛水總時數達7,000小時,曾率領逾百次探險,發現了數千種全新水底物種,獲美國國會圖書館及《時代》雜誌分別譽為「當代傳奇」和「地球英雄」。她解釋:「不時有人問我:『海洋面對的最大問題是甚麼?』 當然就是我們在海洋放入甚麼,[以及]從海中拿出甚麼,但我認為最大的問題是無知──人們不知道為甚麼要關心海洋。」

「海洋是地球生命的搖籃。它需要我們的尊敬、愛護及照料。」

藍色使命

通過「希望點」逐步拯救海洋

探索更多


  • 保護地球 恒動不息

    海洋英雄

    探索新一代英雄,他們展示恢復海洋健康所需要的行動,銳意為人類保護地球,恒動不息。

    icon-play觀看影片

瀏覽所有項目

保護地球 恒動不息

環境保護

探索

Watching over the Earth’s Blue Heart

Perpetual Planet



Rolex has joined forces with Sylvia Earle’s Mission Blue initiative to watch over and safeguard the Earth’s oceans. Since 2009, Mission Blue has been creating a network of Hope Spots around the planet, flourishing icons of marine life in the immensity of the Earth’s Blue Heart.

Despite their vastness, the world’s oceans are in trouble: fish numbers have fallen by up to 90 per cent, their waters are awash with plastic and waste, coral reefs are dying everywhere and ’Dead Zones‘, where the oxygen is too low to support life, are spreading ominously. The oceans comprise 70 per cent of the Earth’s surface, harbour an estimated two million different creatures and are a mainstay of humanity’s future. Yet less than 8 per cent of the ocean is protected, compared to around 15 per cent of the land.



Led by legendary undersea explorer Sylvia Earle, Mission Blue is on a crusade to establish a global network of Marine Protected Areas girdling the planet, one that shields key species and ecosystems, inspires and empowers local activity and ignites worldwide public interest and support for ocean action. Each of these Hope Spots is a special place, scientifically identified as vital to ocean health: some are already protected areas, others still stand in need of formal protection. Under Earle’s leadership, the Mission Blue team has mounted expeditions to pinpoint and study these vital ecosystems, find ways and people to safeguard them into the future.

Hope Spots range from helping to reduce human impact in the Gulf of California, Aegean, Caribbean and Caspian seas, to protecting endangered wildlife in the Galapagos, Andaman and Canary isles, to exploring the deep ocean and its life off Antarctica, Palau and many other unprotected atolls and reefs across the remote oceans of the world.

For close to a century Rolex, too, has supported the exploration of our world, sending its chronometers up the highest mountains and ever deeper into the remotest, darkest regions of the blue realm. Now the era of pure discovery is turning to exploration linked to protection of the Earth’s ecosystems. The company has long been a partner in ocean discovery with Earle and with many other indomitable marine scientists who are among the Laureates of the Rolex Awards for Enterprise.

In 2019, Rolex launched its Perpetual Planet initiative, lending support to outstanding individuals and organizations – such as National Geographic – who work to understand, share and preserve the natural world. The partnership between Mission Blue and Rolex is today one of the pillars of Perpetual Planet. It is a joining of minds, wills, and resources in the name of a better, safer future both for humanity and the Earth we inhabit.

In the Hope Spots, local champions and communities work hand-in-hand with scientists to understand their oceans, establish new or improve existing Marine Protected Areas, and share with the world knowledge of the miraculous life they harbour and how to care for it.

Hope Spots can be large or small – but they all offer hope due to:
• A particular abundance or diversity of marine life, unusual or representative species, habitats and ecosystems
• Notable populations of rare, threatened or endemic species
• Their potential to demonstrate ways to reverse the damage caused by human activity
• The existence of vital natural assets such as major migration corridors or spawning grounds
• Their historical, cultural or spiritual significance to people, locally and globally
• Their economic importance to the community

Mission Blue’s goal is to help protect 30 per cent of the oceans by 2030, which is the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s (IUCN) recommended target for safeguarding ocean health. With the support of Rolex, Mission Blue is seeking to ensure that marine ecosystems in all their wonder and teeming diversity are not lost to future generations.

To achieve this, Mission Blue fuses international cutting-edge science with partnerships with more than 200 local and global conservation organizations and a worldwide outreach effort that brings the wonders of the oceans directly into the homes and lives of ordinary people and schoolchildren.

Since it was founded in 2009, more than 130 Hope Spots have been recognized around the world, with 21 created in 2019 and 12 in 2020. Mission Blue now works directly with communities in 69 countries to restore and protect their unique ocean environments. It communicates its discoveries and campaigns through documentaries, social media, traditional media, undersea webcams and visualization technology, webinars and other modern education and outreach methods. It enables people around the world, many for the first time, to observe, explore and marvel at the wonders of the deep and share in their preservation.

The oceans are the cradle of life on Earth. We owe them our awe, our love and our care.

A lifelong-devoted marine explorer herself, Earle has spent over 7,000 hours under the sea, led more than a hundred expeditions, discovered thousands of new water species, been deemed a “Living Legend” by the Library of Congress and a “Hero of the Planet” by Time magazine. She explains: “People ask me sometimes, ‘What are the biggest problems facing the ocean?’ Of course, it’s what we are putting into the sea, [and] what we’re taking out of the ocean, but I think the biggest problem is ignorance – people do not know why they should care about the ocean.”

The oceans are the cradle of life on Earth. We owe them our awe, our love and our care.

Sylvia Earle is the focus of a new BBC film Perpetual Planet: Heroes of the Oceans that reveals the mission to restore health to the oceans.

View all projects

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover