歷久彌新、長盛不衰

長久、可靠、持續

漢斯・威爾斯多夫高瞻遠矚,他帶領品牌在設計、材質及科學方面革新突破,推出的腕錶恆久耐用、長盛不衰。時至二十一世紀,他的成就與理念作爲公司文化代代傳承,其價值觀亦獲珍而重之,在每個生產環節都確保卓越品質。勞力士的所有工匠、工程師及科學家均為保護和發展品牌特質而自豪。

今日,我們更是驚嘆於漢斯・威爾斯多夫對未來高屋建瓴的遠見卓識。憑藉恒動擺,蠔式腕錶無需外在能源,而是通過手腕擺動自動上鏈。Oyster Perpetual是現代腕錶的典範,歷久彌新、恒久耐用。

腕錶堅固的藍水晶鏡面以下,就是自動上鏈機芯。這個機械傑作由數百件細小組件構成,經過嚴格工序,裝配在防水錶殼中。然而,恒久運作、可靠精準,並不只講求科學技術,更要心懷理念,相信唯有不斷進步、持守卓越,方能裨益後世。此理念驅使勞力士堅持在各方面拓展界限。在追求恒動卓越的路上,不論是公司為製造和測試腕錶而研發的專門器材、研究與開發實驗室,或是不斷改善以達至優秀水平的工坊,所有細節均嚴謹處理。每枚腕錶必須呈現最高品質,出色掌握防水技術,完美體現公司對恒動卓越的不懈追求。

1926年,漢斯・威爾斯多夫推出全球首枚防水蠔式腕錶。三十多年後,於1960年,勞力士的專家讓一枚時計跟隨的里雅斯特號(Trieste),共同抵達海洋最深處──馬里亞納海溝(Mariana Trench)。至今僅有兩次同類的探險旅程。最近一次為2012年,探險家兼電影製作人占士・金馬倫(James Cameron),攜同固定在潛水器液壓臂上的實驗型腕錶 Rolex Deepsea Challenge,下潛至海溝的底部。就如首次探險,腕錶在水深11公里下,鏡面受壓達12噸壓力,仍然準確計時,回到水面時絲毫無損。

勞力士為各領域研發腕錶,先後推出專為潛水、賽車、登山、航空、航海及探險而設計的腕錶。多年來,它們經過不斷改良,添加嶄新功能,令腕錶性能更為完備,更能保障佩戴者的安全。

勞力士一直專注創新發明,著重設計及工程技術方面的革新,多年來共累積逾500項專利,包括設於外圈部分的字圈,以及腕錶內部的精細組件。Chronergy擒縱系統便是其中之一。系統會交替振動,締造機械腕錶獨有的滴答聲響,定義機芯計時區間。這堪稱為微技術的傑作,其繁複嚴格的工序,彰顯勞力士的深厚知識涵養與無限創意。

與此同時,創新工序亦提升腕錶的美學特色,且毫不影響其非凡的堅固性能。GMT-Master II的紅藍雙色Cerachrom陶質字圈,是多年來研究開發的結晶:通過複雜的化合物混合和獨特程序,打造彩色外圈。加熱後,陶質字圈變得極其堅固,難以刮損。

此外,還有許多發明能夠彰顯勞力士在材質研發領域的卓越成就,當中便有呈現柔和粉紅色調的專利永恒玫瑰金,以及蠔式鋼,這款獨特的超合金鋼不僅抗震防刮,磨光後更能散發奪目光澤。

腕錶堅固的藍水晶鏡面以下,就是自動上鏈機芯。這個機械傑作由數百件細小組件構成,經過嚴格工序,裝配在防水錶殼中。

勞力士的所有製錶工序均在瑞士完成,因此品牌能夠完全確保品質。腕錶製作由四座製造所分工,它們負責設計和製造主要組件。從鑄造金材質、製作微細的游絲和軸承,以至打造錶殼和最後組裝,每個工序均是由勞力士獨立完成。每枚機芯在裝進錶殼內前,均獲得瑞士天文台認證(COSC)。然後,完成組裝後的腕錶將再通過勞力士嚴格測試,確保符合「頂級天文台精密時計」的標準。綠色印章是這項認證的象徵,每枚勞力士腕錶均附上此印章,並附有全球五年保用保證。

勞力士腕錶精緻優美,其美態並不局限於外觀設計,內在元素亦同樣令人目不暇給。在這個即棄文化盛行的時代,它是值得珍愛的寶物,提醒我們所需要傳承的價值觀。它是勞力士卓越世界的一部分,是永恒的的象徵,值得擁有。它,恒動不息。

我們的創辦精神

恒動精神

探索

分享此頁面

Built to last

longevity, reliability, continuity

Hans Wilsdorf’s vision was long term, and the advances he led, in design, materials and science, have made his watches, too, Perpetual. In the 21st century, his achievement is upheld in the culture of the company, where his values are safeguarded and the highest standards of excellence permeate every aspect of production. At Rolex, every craftsperson, engineer and scientist is proud to protect and develop the quality for which the brand is known.

Today, as we witness the devastating effects of our throwaway culture, Hans Wilsdorf’s vision appears resoundingly modern. With its Perpetual rotor, the Oyster needs no external source of power, winding itself automatically through the gentle action of the wrist. The Oyster Perpetual is a watch for our time – it is built to last and made to keep.

Underneath its tough sapphire glass lies the startling mechanical beauty of the self-winding movement – tiny, tiny elements of hundreds of components produced with exquisite rigour and perfectly composed in their waterproof case. But to keep going, to keep reliable time forever, takes more than scientific prowess. It takes philosophy – a belief that continued improvement and lasting excellence will benefit future generations. This philosophy has driven Rolex to push the boundaries of the possible in every aspect of its work, on and on. In the pursuit of perpetual excellence, nothing is left to chance – from the specialized equipment that the company has developed to produce and test the watches, to the laboratories where research and development is carried out and the ateliers that are continually optimized to enable the highest quality of work. Every watch must be the best it can be. And nothing better illustrates the story of the company’s ambition for perpetual excellence than its technical mastery of waterproofness.

In 1926, Hans Wilsdorf released to the world the Oyster, the world’s first waterproof wristwatch. A little more than 30 years later, in 1960, Rolex expertise sent a timepiece to the bottom of the deepest part of the oceans, the Mariana Trench, on board the Trieste. There have been two such journeys now. The most recent was in 2012 when explorer and film-maker James Cameron descended to the deepest part of the Trench with another experimental watch, the Rolex Deepsea Challenge, attached to a hydraulic arm on his submersible. Just as on the first journey, the watch kept perfect time at almost 11 km down, resisting the pressure of more than 12 tonnes on the crystal, and emerging from the water unscathed.

Rolex has made watches for every realm. Watches for diving, for driving, mountaineering. For flying, yachting and exploration. They have been constantly updated through the years, with new features added, to improve functionality and enhance their wearers’ safety.

Testament to the steady introduction of new inventions, new designs and engineering methods are the more than 500 patents that Rolex has issued over the years. They cover details ranging from inserts in the bezel to the most refined inner workings of the watch. One such refinement is the Chronergy escapement. With its alternating beats producing the unmistakeable ticking of a mechanical watch, it plays a key role in the movement’s measurement of time. It is a triumph of microtechnology whose complex and exacting production process calls on all of Rolex’s vast know-how and ingenuity.

At the same time, new procedures have enhanced the aesthetics of the watches – without, of course, compromising their legendary strength. The GMT-Master II’s red and blue Cerachrom ceramic bezel insert involved years of research and development: it took a combination of complex chemical compounds and a special process to finesse the coloured bezel. After heat treatment, it is so hard that it is virtually scratchproof.

There are many other inventions that attest to the excellence of Rolex’s research into materials. Among these are the exclusive Everose gold with its resonant pink hues, and Oystersteel, a unique steel superalloy that has added greater scratch and shock resistance, along with a lustrous sheen after polishing.

Underneath its tough sapphire glass lies the startling mechanical beauty of the self-winding movement – tiny, tiny elements of hundreds of components produced with exquisite rigour and perfectly composed in their waterproof case.

With all its operations carried out in Switzerland, Rolex is able to maintain complete control over quality. Work takes place over four sites, where the essential components are designed and made. From the casting of the gold to the crafting of the minutest spring and pivot, and from the manufacture of the casings to final assembly, every step of the process is completed in house. What is more, every movement is certified by the Swiss Official Testing Institute (COSC), before being encased. Then, Rolex gives the fully assembled watch stringent tests to see if it merits the label “Superlative Chronometer”, represented by a green seal that comes with every timepiece, accompanied by a worldwide five-year guarantee.

A Rolex watch is a thing of beauty – a beauty that reaches far beneath its surface into its breathtaking inner world. At a time when few things are guaranteed to last, it is a treasure made to cherish, a reminder of values that we need to uphold and hope to pass on. It belongs to a special universe of excellence that Rolex has created, as a mark of optimism and an investment in the future. It is Perpetual.

Our Founding Spirit

Perpetual

Discover

Share this page