大木洵人以手語連繫世界

發布日期: 2016年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

全球有7,000萬人使用手語,當中可分為126種不同的語言,而每種手語均有獨特詞彙。然而,目前僅有少量辭典記錄各種手語的詞句與文法。一名日本企業家正建立網上手語詞典,以協助全球不同的手語團體互相溝通。

地點日本

自少年時期,大木洵人(Junto Ohki)便熱衷於研習手語。他在大學成立手語學會,及後更正式擔任手語翻譯員。然而,他逐漸了解到全球有多達126種手語,各具其文法及詞彙體制,而且只有少量辭典能協助他們互相溝通。

聽障人士的工作能力並不比常人遜色。社會只關顧正常聽力人士的需要,以致他們喪失機遇。我希望為此帶來改變。

為打破此語言障礙,他於2011年創立全球首個網上手語資料庫SLinto,並透過他特別研發的鍵盤,蒐集手語使用者的詞句。他不僅運用眾包技術,讓更多手語詞彙得到演化革新,並建立交流平台方便聽障人士使用社會及商業服務。

SLinto記錄的項目逾3,000項,成為日本最大型的手語資料庫,大木洵人更計劃於未來兩年將記錄的項目數量推至10,000項。此外,他亦致力蒐集7,000個美國手語詞彙,並在發展中國家收錄另外3,000個當地手語用詞。發展中國家中應以印度為先,因為他早已對印度的聽障人士學校深感興趣。除了這些短期目標外,大木洵人更相信SLinto有望能打破全球7000萬人之間的手語語言障礙。

  • 7000萬人

    使用手語的全球人數

  • 126種

    全球的手語數目,各具其文法及詞彙體制

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Junto OhkiConnecting the world with signs

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Seventy million people worldwide use sign languages. They are divided by 126 different languages, each with its own vocabulary. However, there are very few dictionaries to bridge the gaps between these languages. A Japanese entrepreneur is creating an online sign-language dictionary to help deaf communities across the world converse.

locationJapan

As a teenager, Junto Ohki was entranced by sign language. At university he formed a sign language club and later became a certified sign language interpreter. But he soon realized users were divided by 126 languages worldwide, each with its own grammar and vocabulary – and there were very few dictionaries to help them interact.

It’s not that deaf people are less skilled. Society makes them disabled because society is only for hearing people. I want to change that.

To bridge this gap, in 2011 he created SLinto, the first online sign-language database using crowdsourcing to gather signs from practitioners and a special keyboard he developed to input them. He recognized that through crowdsourcing, richer vocabularies could evolve and provide a platform for deaf people to more easily access social and business services.

With more than 3,000 entries, SLinto is Japan’s biggest database of signs, and Ohki’s goal is to reach 10,000 over the next two years. He is also aiming for 7,000 signs in the United States and 3,000 in a developing country, most likely India, where he has already had interest from deaf schools. Beyond these short-term goals, Ohki believes SLinto has the potential to be a ground-breaking resource that will remove barriers between the sign languages used by 70 million people worldwide.

  • 70 million

    People worldwide who use sign languages

  • 126

    Sign languages in the world, each with its own grammar and vocabulary

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page