山努斯・戴亞傑迪希望之糧

發布日期: 1996年clock閱讀需時: 40s
scroll-down

福尼奧米(Fonio)是西非常見穀物,美味健康。然而世代以來,生產這種穀物的缺點,便是需要花上大量時間搗碎和篩選,為其去殼。而山努斯・戴亞傑迪(Sanoussi Diakité)所發明的機器,便能夠大大縮減去殼時間。

地點塞內加爾

身兼工程師和教師的戴亞傑迪於1990年代研發出這台重50公斤的機器,自此大家便以不同態度看待福尼奧米。此機器具數個型號,售價介乎1,320至2,200美元,對獨立農戶而言可謂價值不菲。幸而,西非多國政府先後購入這台機器,讓更多民眾能夠使用。

福尼奧米極其珍貴,但越來越少人願意生產。這驅使我決定發明相關的生產機器。

如今,超過180台除殼機分佈於8個國家。塞內加爾大眾不再忽視福尼奧米,大家對這種穀物重拾興趣,許多農民更把福尼奧米的種植面積增倍。勞力士雄才偉略大獎令戴亞傑迪的機器在國內以至國際獲得更高的知名度。

此外,戴亞傑迪提倡的「福尼奧米日」已獲接納為年度節日。他亦獲任命為塞內加爾國家專業培訓局的總幹事。

  • 5公斤

    戴亞傑迪的機器能於5至8分鐘內處理的福尼奧米份量

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Sanoussi Diakité

Grain of hope

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

Fonio is a delicious, healthy cereal eaten in West Africa. But for centuries it had a drawback – hours of pounding and winnowing were needed to remove the husks from the grain. Sanoussi Diakité invented a machine that removes them in a fraction of the time.

locationSenegal

The 50 kg machine invented in the 1990s by Diakité, an engineer and teacher, has transformed attitudes to fonio. The device costs between US$1,320 and $2,200, depending on the type, which makes it too expensive for individual households. But governments across West Africa have begun buying it to make it accessible to as many people as possible.

Fonio is extremely prized, but people are more and more reluctant to prepare it. I decided that a machine needed to be invented.

More than 180 of his husk-removal machines have been distributed in eight countries. Fonio is no longer ignored by the Senegalese media, and there has been a renewal of interest in this grain, with many farmers doubling the average terrain they allocate for growing it. The Rolex Award has won Diakité’s machine national and international renown.

Fonio Day, suggested by Diakité, is now celebrated annually. He has been appointed Director General of Senegal’s National Office for Professional Training.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page