穆罕默德・巴・阿巴沙漠中的冷藏食品

發布日期: 2000年icon-clock閱讀需時: 0min 49s
icon-scroll-down

在半乾旱的地區,非冷藏食品一般迅速腐壞,對當地人民造成重大困擾。來自陶藝家族的穆罕默德・巴・阿巴(Mohammed Bah Abba)則找到極為簡單的解決方案。

地點尼日利亞

巴・阿巴生前創作的「沙漠冰箱」或「罐中罐」,為家鄉尼日利亞的自給農民留下非凡傳統。這項設計亦讓他聲名大噪,在2001年獲《時代》雜誌選為年度發明之一。

農民如今可按需求售賣農作物,不再因變質問題而急於出售。

其原理簡單,就是把一個罐套於另一個罐內,再以濕沙填補當中空隙。由於沙粒會在沙漠環境下變乾,內罐的熱力亦隨之消退,令內藏物品保持冷卻。

2005年,巴・阿巴在勞力士雄才偉略大獎的協助下,分別於尼日利亞北部的11個州份,以及喀麥隆、乍得、厄立特里亞、尼日爾和蘇丹的部分地區,派發近10萬個罐中罐。2008年,非牟利組織無國界醫生在幾內亞借用了罐中罐的設計,以儲存抗瘧疾的兒童藥物。巴・阿巴隨後將這個概念推廣至剛比亞。易腐食品得以保鮮,令農民的收入和生活皆有所改善。巴・阿巴於2010年去世,至今仍有不少刊物談及他的創作。

  • 27天

    茄子於巴・阿巴首批罐中罐內保鮮的日數,過往僅能存放三天

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索更多

close

Mohammed Bah AbbaCool food in the desert

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

In a semi-arid land with no refrigeration, food perishes quickly, causing major problems for local people. But Mohammed Bah Abba, who came from a family of potters, had a spectacularly simple solution.

locationNigeria

The late Bah Abba’s “desert refrigerator” or “pot-in-pot” is his extraordinary legacy to the subsistence farmers of his native Nigeria. It also made him famous, having been named one of the 2001 Inventions of the Year by Time magazine.

Farmers are now able to sell on demand rather than rush sell because of spoilage.

It works very simply: one pot sits inside another and damp sand fills the space in between. As the sand dries in the desert air, heat in the inner pot is wicked away, keeping the contents cool.

By 2005, with help from his Rolex Award, Bah Abba had distributed nearly 100,000 pot-in-pots in 11 northern Nigerian states, as well as in parts of Cameroon, Chad, Eritrea, Niger and Sudan. In 2008, an adaptation of the pot-in-pot was used in Guinea by the non-governmental organization Médecins Sans Frontières to store antimalarial drugs for children. Bah Abba also helped introduce the concept in The Gambia. The ability to conserve perishable foods has boosted the incomes and lives of farmers. Bah Abba died in 2010, but articles on his work continue to be published.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page