蘭茜・鍾絲・阿貝德拉赫曼要喝點駱駝奶嗎?

發布日期: 1993年icon-clock閱讀需時: 0min 55s
icon-scroll-down

蘭茜・鍾絲・阿貝德拉赫曼(Nancy Jones Abeiderrahmane)在毛里塔尼亞開設非洲首個駱駝奶類製品場,為畜牧業固有的模式帶來變革,同時提高了當地人民的生活質素。

地點毛里塔尼亞

於1970年代至1980年代,位處非洲西北部的毛里塔尼亞面對嚴酷的環境挑戰,不僅長期受乾旱煎熬,更經常受沙漠蝗蟲侵襲,令牧場變得荒蕪,游牧人口因而逐步遷移往城鎮。他們移居市區後,過往以新鮮駱駝奶為主食的傳統亦漸漸消失。

奶類製品的出現顛覆了飼養禽畜的傳統模式……大家開始視畜牧業為經濟活動,而非單純一代傳一代的謀生方式。

有見及此,蘭茜・鍾絲・阿貝德拉赫曼於1989年開設了首個奶製品加熱殺菌和駱駝奶酪生產工場——Laitière de Mauritanie(現名為Tiviski)。通過引進全新畜牧方式和新產品,她為農村人民帶來了穩定收入。儘管阿貝德拉赫曼成功克服駱駝奶酪在生產技術上的挑戰,但貿易出口的限制始終令她束手無策。

工場在2001年已擴展至1,800平方米,每天購置並處理多達21,000公升的駱駝奶、牛奶和羊奶。乳品場如今生產近20種產品,運往本土市場銷售。工場目前由阿貝德拉赫曼的女兒和女婿打理,而她則繼續擔任顧問一職,為研發駱駝奶製品和產品提供意見。她的著作Camel Cheese - Seemed Like a Good Idea於2013年出版。

  • 200名

    乳品廠員工

  • 20,000公升

    奶製品(每天產量)

  • 1,000名

    牧民供應鮮奶

  • 3,000個

    家庭從乳品場獲取收入

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索更多

Nancy Jones AbeiderrahmaneCamel milk, anyone?

Published in 1993clockTime to read: 55s
scroll-down

Nancy Jones Abeiderrahmane opened Africa’s first camel milk dairy in Mauritania, bringing a paradigm shift for livestock husbandry and improving the quality of life for people living in her adoptive country.

locationMauritania

Faced with the harsh realities of life in Mauritania in north-west Africa, where prolonged periods of drought and swarms of desert locusts periodically devastated pasture, in the 1970s and 1980s the nomadic population gradually migrated to towns. By moving to urban areas, they lost their staple food ─ fresh camel’s milk.

Thanks to the dairy, traditional methods of treating livestock are being overturned... People are beginning to look at animal husbandry as an economic activity, not merely a way of life passed on from father to son.

To help counter the situation, Nancy Jones Abeiderrahmane opened a milk-pasteurizing and camel cheese-producing dairy ─ Laitière de Mauritanie and now Tiviski ─ in 1989. By introducing new husbandry methods, as well as a new product, she has given rural people a regular income. However, while she managed to overcome technical challenges to produce camel cheese industrially, Abeiderrahmane has been unable to overcome trade restrictions to export it.

By 2001, the plant had expanded to 1,800 square metres, purchasing and processing up to 21,000 litres of camel, cow and goat milk a day. Today, the dairy produces about 20 products which are sold at the local market. Abeiderrahmane, whose daughter and son-in-law took over the dairy, still acts as a consultant for developing camel milk dairies and products. Her book, Camel Cheese - Seemed Like a Good Idea, was published in 2013.

  • 200

    Staff at the dairy plant

  • 20,000

    Litres of milk produced a day

  • 1,000

    Herders who supply fresh milk

  • 3,000

    Families provided with an income from the dairy

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page