于rolex.org搜索

费力克斯・布鲁克斯-丘奇

2021年劳力士雄才伟略大奖得主

通过加强面粉中的有益成分,根除坦桑尼亚营养不良现象

全球各地每天有多达15,000名儿童死于营养不足。美国社会企业家费力克斯・布鲁克斯-丘奇(Felix Brooks-church)就此提出解决方案:一套创新系统,确保贫困社会母亲及婴儿所用的每餐,均具备维持生命的必要营养。他的项目为坦桑尼亚的儿童带来新生命与希望,成为世界先例。

费力克斯・布鲁克斯-丘奇的项目核心是一项名为“营养增量机”(dosifier)的独特发明,在当地磨坊生产的每包面粉添加测定剂量的维生素B12、锌、叶酸及铁。此流程采用精明的商业模型,确保经常遭政府食品改善计划忽视的小型当地面粉磨坊,不用额外收费便可以为自己或顾客使用营养增量机。其社会企业Sanku以低价大量购入面粉包,再以市场价卖给磨坊。当中利润可以弥补添加营养的微小开支。此模型确保布鲁克斯-丘奇的项目符合成本效益,每人每年的食物营养补充开支不足1美元。

布鲁克斯-丘奇之所以锐意消除营养不良问题,是因为他曾于10年前在柬埔寨进行志愿工作。他说:“我营运的项目旨在将街童迁入中心,最终让他们重回学校及家庭。” 营养不足是他们患病的根源。“我不久便发现这些儿童大多都生病。他们的免疫系统脆弱、智力低于水平、出现学习障碍,部分更死于一般非致命的疾病。”

我们所做的并非单单在食物加入营养。这是确保民众享有所需营养的基本人权。

费力克斯・布鲁克斯-丘奇

他明白到拯救街童并不能解决深层次问题,继而转在婴儿出生后首两年,为母亲及婴孩提供必要营养。这让他灵机一动,锐意在全球一亿名儿童提供营养充足的食物。“我的目标非常清晰,这是我须要做的事。这是我希望做的事。这就是旅程的开始。”

布鲁克斯-丘奇的营养增量机虽然轻盈,但却坚固可靠,每剂营养素均经过精细测量。它们亦会连接互联网,让他可以监察坦桑尼亚各地的磨坊。其发明现在每天为200万人补充营养。

由于销售面粉包可以弥补添加营养的开支,布鲁克斯-丘奇转而运用劳力士大奖资金多购置40台营养增量机,并改造小型磨坊,为多达20万人带来富营养的面粉。他亦期望劳力士大奖可以提高项目的曝光率,争取更多民众支持,以扩大项目规模。

布鲁克斯-丘奇计划在坦桑尼亚面粉磨坊再安装另外180台营养增量机,然后每年最少扩展至一个国家。

他说:“我们所做的并非单单在食物加入营养。这是确保民众享有所需营养的基本人权。这与居所、安全及食水无异。世上充满不公之事──这不过是我争取平等的本分。”

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

为2021年大奖得主喝彩

探索更多

FELIX BROOKS-CHURCH

2021 Rolex Awards Laureate

Eradicate malnutrition in Tanzania, one fortified bag at a time

Poor nutrition contributes to 15,000 preventable child deaths daily worldwide. American social entrepreneur Felix Brooks-church has an answer: an ingenious system to ensure that each meal consumed by every mother and infant living in an underprivileged society contains essential, life-saving nutrients. His project is bringing new life and hope to children in Tanzania, as a model for the world.

At the heart of Felix Brooks-church’s project is an inspired invention, a ‘dosifier’ that fortifies every bag of flour sold by local millers by adding a measured dose of vitamin B12, zinc, folic acid and iron. The process is supported by a clever business model that ensures that small, local flour mills – often overlooked by government dietary enrichment programmes – can use the dosifier at no extra cost to themselves or their customers. His social enterprise, Sanku, buys flour bags cheaply in bulk, then sells them to the millers at market price. The margin is enough to cover the tiny cost of the added nutrients. This model ensures that Brooks-church’s project is extremely cost-effective, costing less than $1 to fortify food for one person for an entire year.

The motivation for Brooks-church’s mission to end malnutrition sprang from his volunteer work in Cambodia, 10 years ago. “I ran a project to get street children off the street, into our centre and eventually back into their schools and families,” he says. Poor nutrition was the root cause of what ailed them. “I soon realized these children were often sick. They had weak immune systems, low IQs, learning disabilities and some died from things that you should not die from.”

What we are doing is not just adding nutrients to food. What we are doing is ensuring a basic human right to good nutrition.

Felix Brooks-church

Realizing that rescuing street kids did not solve the deeper problem, he soon saw he had to deliver to both mothers and babies the nutrition essential in the first two years of life. That lit a spark – a burning ambition to take sound diets to a hundred million children, worldwide. “There was just such clarity that this is what I needed to do. This is what I wanted to do. That was really the start of this journey.”

Brooks-church’s dosifiers are light, but strong and reliable, measuring each dose of nutrients with precision. They are also networked via the internet, enabling him to monitor mills across Tanzania. They now help nourish two million people a day.

While sales of flour bags cover the cost of the added nutrients, Brooks-church will use his Rolex Award funds to purchase 40 more dosifiers to transform small-scale mills, feeding up to 200,000 people with enriched flour. He also hopes the Award will raise the project’s profile, attracting enough support to scale up significantly.

Brooks-church plans to install another 180 dosifiers in Tanzanian flour mills this year, before expanding into other nations at a rate of at least one country per year.

“What we are doing is not just adding nutrients to food,” he says. “What we are doing is ensuring a basic human right to good nutrition. It is the same for shelter, safety, water. There is a lot of injustice in the world – and this is my part to play, to equalize.”

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Celebrating the 2021 Laureates

Discover more